Attention everyone, a public service announcement

I got an email from someone who I think may have been a former classmate of Rebecca Rodriguez, who disappeared in 1977 with her older sister, Evangeline Silva, and her sister’s boyfriend, Kenneth Beltram. (I don’t have pics of them so no casefiles for those two.) I don’t know who the person is because they didn’t identify themselves and sent the email from their phone; I just have the phone number.

Anyway, the person said the only photo that I (and NamUs) have for Rebecca is wrong. It’s a school yearbook photo and there were two girls named Rebecca Rodriguez in that class. The person sent me a scan of the yearbook page with the two Rebeccas side by side. I’ve changed my Rebecca’s photo accordingly. I thought I should let people know this.

17 thoughts on “Attention everyone, a public service announcement

  1. Della May 9, 2016 / 3:00 pm

    Hey, are you going to give NamUs the information so they can update??

    • Meaghan May 9, 2016 / 3:02 pm

      A lot of NamUs members are kind of not on speaking terms with me for some reason. But I did talk about this to a friend who submits info to NamUs, and I hope that between my conversation with him and this blog post, NamUs will found out one way or another.

  2. Janine May 9, 2016 / 4:21 pm

    Makes me sad when there are missing persons without pictures. Terrible. Excuse me for my spelling. Im from the Netherlands.

  3. Annie May 9, 2016 / 6:55 pm

    Are the parents the ones who send in the photos of minors to law enforcement? I would think the parents would know which one to send law enforcement, and of course I can’t help but get suspicious towards them.

    • Meaghan May 9, 2016 / 10:49 pm

      I have no idea who reported them missing. We are talking about a nearly 40 year old case. In 1977 cases of missing teens and young adults weren’t taken as seriously as they are now. Documents got lost, destroyed or discarded. I know of one case where relatives of a missing girl turned over every one of her pictures to the cops, and every one got lost except a single poor quality image. So what I’m trying to say is, the lack of photos 39 years later is not an indication that the parents were involved in the disappearance or didn’t care about them.

      • Annie May 10, 2016 / 4:34 am

        That’s sad. I wish they were taken more seriously, but it seems like the police forget the missing people even existed. Wasn’t there a person on Charley whose casfile was accidentally destroyed by the police when they were trying to improve their department?

      • Meaghan May 10, 2016 / 10:19 am

        I think so. Probably there was more than one. 😦

    • Meaghan May 9, 2016 / 10:54 pm

      I should add that I believe Rebecca’s photo was sent in by a third party. See below.

  4. Justin May 9, 2016 / 8:16 pm

    Hey Meaghan, I’m the one who submitted those three to NamUs. They were my first submissions to NamUs. I didn’t have any photographs of them at the time and NamUs added Rebecca’s later. I don’t know where they got them, although I assumed that the Contra Costa County Sheriff’s Department sent it to them.

    Do you want me to contact them and ask?

    Also, a suggestion for Select it Sunday (If you haven’t already done it). People who went missing in small aircraft.

    • Meaghan May 9, 2016 / 10:53 pm

      I think Carl Koppelman submitted the photo. He goes through old high school yearbooks online looking for photos of teen and young adult MPs. A yearbook photo, even if it is several years old, is better than nothing.

      • Justin May 12, 2016 / 12:33 am

        I checked my old emails from when I first started looking into the disappearance of those three people. I had contacted a Sgt. Eric Navarro with the Contra Costa Sheriff’s Office back in 2004 (twelve years. Boy, does time goes by) about it and he confirmed that they had a very poor photograph of Rebecca. I asked him that since he did have a photo if he would consider submitting her profile to the CDOJ. He didn’t seem that enthusiastic about doing so and I’ve since learned that he has retired. Years later, I submitted her to NamUs without the photograph. But when her photo did get put on the NamUs webpage, I assumed that was the one he was talking about, although it didn’t look that poor to me. Now after reading all this, I’m not so sure.

  5. Catherine May 9, 2016 / 9:02 pm

    I’m sorry to hear some NamUs posters and you are not on speaking terms. Basically the two best sites on the internet for information of this type. Athough for me personally Charley is much easier to navigate.

    • Meaghan May 9, 2016 / 10:57 pm

      I really don’t know why they don’t like me. We have different philosophies, I guess.

      • Reggie May 10, 2016 / 10:33 pm

        Isn’t NameUs a program run by the government? What could possibly motivate them to dislike you and/or what you’re doing? I mean it’s not like they’re a private website owner competing for page hits or content exclusivity.

      • Meaghan May 11, 2016 / 5:07 am

        It is run by the Feds, yes, but a lot of civilian volunteers contribute to it. I don’t know exactly how that works. I do know that one of the people that contributes accused me of outright making up the details in my casefiles and another called me a parasite.

      • Meaghan May 11, 2016 / 5:18 am

        Oh, and I might also add that one of the people who was on friendlier terms with those aforementioned critics warned me to “be careful” because they thought I might get sent a computer virus or something of that nature. This person presumably knew what they were on about, being privy to private discussions I wasn’t part of. Nothing happened, but I took the warning seriously.

  6. Julie May 11, 2016 / 7:09 am

    I’m curious to know if her sister Silva could be in that same yearbook, being that they were only three years apart in age. Interesting find, as well as an interesting case.

Leave a Reply

