Holy wow, what happened here?

I was looking at Charley’s visitor stats and noticed that last month my average was nearly 19,000 independent visits a day. My usual average is 9-10,000 visits a day. When I looked at the page for April at first I thought there was a mistake, because most of the days seemed to hover around 10,000, sometimes more, sometimes less.

Then I saw April 21 and 22. 30,509 visits for April 21. And a whopping 198,839 visits for April 22.

Whaaaat?

The number of visits for the days after that are elevated, but not hugely so — around 15,000. And surprisingly, the most-visited casefile is not Peter Kema‘s, but Tammy Leppert‘s.

Did something big happen in Tammy’s case that I’m missing? The only thing I can find is that Tammy was the subject of this Reddit thread.

3 thoughts on “Holy wow, what happened here?

  1. Sean Munger May 8, 2016 / 12:58 pm

    You got a Reddit spike. They’re random, temporary explosions of page views that usually die down in a day or two once the collective brain of Reddit moves on to something else. This happens to me too, but more often as a result of an Investigation Discovery profile being rerun. In the 20 minutes after the show is over there’s an explosion of people Googling “[insert MP’s name] found dead.” But it’s happened to me when an article is featured on Reddit too.

    • Meaghan May 8, 2016 / 5:15 pm

      Thanks for the explanation, it makes sense. I know Tammy’s sister and I’m sure she’d be happy to find out Tammy got so much attention.

      And speaking of Tammy’s sister, word on the street is there’s this bizarre conspiracy theory floating around the true crime devotee circles online that Tammy’s sister is actually Tammy, pretending to be a wholly imaginary sibling for reasons best known to herself. (Because when have you ever heard of siblings that don’t have the same last name?) Which might sound amusing to you and me but I’m sure Tammy’s sister finds it hurtful and upsetting.

      • bootscallahan May 9, 2016 / 11:03 am

        That particular subreddit has 11 million subscribers, so that’s definitely what did it.

Leave a Reply

