I’m in Green Bay

Arrived without incident and checked into an incredibly sketchy hotel with a 1.5 star Yelp rating. Going to the 2nd annual Wisconsin Missing Persons Awareness event tomorrow.

(I recently joined the app Whisper and I posted a thing about checking into a hotel with a 1.5 Yelp rating. The phone, I said, appears to have been stolen from a Ramada Inn. Unsurprisingly a bunch of people messaged me wanting sexytime. Even if I wanted that, given where I’m going tomorrow, it would be tempting fate to hook up with a random stranger from Whisper tonight. LOL.)

14 thoughts on “I’m in Green Bay

  1. Jaclyn April 24, 2016 / 12:50 am

    Gosh, you shouldn’t have to stay in sketchy! How many nights? We should pitch in and get you a decent, non- sketchy room.

    • Meaghan April 24, 2016 / 11:05 am

      Just the one night. I survived. The rats didn’t gnaw my toes off and no crackhead ax murderers broke in while I was sleeping.

  2. D'Lil April 24, 2016 / 8:33 am

    What prompted you to join Whisper?
    Hoping there will be a large attendance at the event.

    • Meaghan April 25, 2016 / 7:14 pm

      Whisper just seemed like it would be fun and so far it pretty much has been, though I have run into a few jerks. My first night on it I had a 4-hour conversation with a guy from Turkey. I’d never spoken to anyone from Turkey before. He is a nice young man who loves reading and is majoring in Russian language and literature at his university.

      • D'Lil April 26, 2016 / 1:14 am

        Cool, and I’m sure a nice diversion from the heavy stuff of missing persons. And weren’t you studying a foreign language yourself?
        Btw, did any families of the Wisconsin missing come up and talk with you? Any of the local law enforcement?

      • Meaghan April 26, 2016 / 4:01 am

        The event was actually held at the sheriff’s office so yes I talked to cops. And to a Wisconsin state representative. Amber Wilde’s family’s table was next to mine and we discussed our pets. DonaMae Bayerl’s daughter and sister spoke to me and her sister squeezed my hands after I explained what I do and why. A representative from the Polly Klaas Foundation was present also.

        I will blog about it later today. I got home in the wee hours and slept all day Monday.

  3. Christine April 24, 2016 / 8:41 pm

    I agree with Jaclyn, we should chip in start a travel fund so you stay at a decent hotel….. you deserve to be safe!

  4. Kat April 24, 2016 / 8:44 pm

    Hope you didn’t get bedbugs or fleas. Those are the WORST. To be sure, wash all your stuff in super hot water when you get home, etc. Ick. I’ve survived a few bad hotel rooms too, and I feel your pain. Except I was too young and dumb to realize that! Now, I hate staying anywhere, but almost never have a choice. Hope everything goes well with the event, good luck!

    • Meaghan April 25, 2016 / 7:17 pm

      In the morning I slept late — the event wasn’t starting till 1:00 so there was no reason to get up really — and the manager hammered on the door yelling “Check out time!” I called through the door that I would be checking out late and would pay the late checkout fee. He said, “Pay me now. I have to go.” I opened the door and gave him a $20 bill and he just walked away without another word, not so much as a “thank you” or anything. I knew the late checkout fee was $10 and I thought, “Um…did this jerk just steal $10 from me? Whaaat?” But fortunately when I did check out at the desk they gave me $10 back.

      And I accidentally left my cell phone charger in the room and didn’t remember it till after the event. I called the hotel and it turns out they had it waiting for me and the staff hadn’t stolen it. So there is that.

  5. Liz April 24, 2016 / 9:50 pm

    I second the bed bugs. I stayed in nice hotels for my honeymoon and came home with them. We had no idea for a month. Then suddenly it was a disaster for 3 months. But fortunately my hubs was a bed bug ninja!! Just don’t take your bag in the house go straight to a laundromat. It’s no joke!!

  6. hennylee April 25, 2016 / 8:23 am

    What is the “Whisper” App? I have never heard of it.

    • Meaghan April 25, 2016 / 7:15 pm

      It’s a free SmartPhone app where you join anonymously and post secrets, or just thoughts, whatever. Other people post their secrets too and you read each other’s secrets and talk about them.

  7. Aire April 27, 2016 / 7:50 am

    Michael didn’t come with you?

    • Meaghan April 27, 2016 / 2:50 pm

      He had to work. In addition to being a teacher he works nights and weekends as a tutor.

Leave a Reply

