Huh. I just noticed something.

I’m catching up on runaways and am writing up the disappearance of Sydney Renee Cater. I Googled her name and noticed this: namely, a list of recent Oklahoma County marriages dated August 6, 2014, which included “Sydney Renee Cater and Freddy Joe Gomez.”

I looked a bit further and found this court record of the couple’s application for a marriage license. It notes that the female applicant was a minor (Sydney would have been 16 at the time, which is the minimum age for marriage in Oklahoma under most circumstances) and someone named Buffy Lynn Wooten gave consent for her. I found a record for Buffy’s own application to marry Shannon Edward Wooten, and it says Buffy’s name was Buffy Lynn Cater back then.

Is Buffy, then, Sydney’s mother? Older sister perhaps? Aunt? And if Buffy knew Sydney’s whereabouts and consented to her marriage in August 2014, why does the NCMEC say she disappeared on June 29, 2013?

Is Freddy Joe Gomez the “adult male” Sydney may be with?

Zounds.

8 thoughts on “Huh. I just noticed something.

  1. HennyLee April 18, 2016 / 10:03 am

    I am pretty certain you are right and it is the same person. I found a combined Facebook page for Sydney and Freddy and the pictures look like the Sydney on the Missing person poster. At least in my opinion.

  2. Nicola April 18, 2016 / 7:45 pm

    I’ve also done a little Facebook digging & I’m not convinced Sydney is still missing. As the first post says there is a joint Facebook page for a Freddy & Sydney Gomez & I agree the pictures certainly bear a strong resemblance to the girl in the missing person photo. The page has very recent updates/photos and has Oklahoma City as the location. The profile is also friends with others who have the surname Cater, including Buffy Cater. Buffy appears to be this Sydney’s mother as the couple have a child & in one photo Buffy refers to the child as her grandchild. The Buffy Cater profile is also friends with Shannon Wooten so it’s almost definitely the people whose marriage certificates you have found. Whether it definitely is the same ‘missing’ Sydney Cater is less certain but I really think it is her. My guess is she did go missing in 2013 but has long since returned and for some reason her case has not been closed properly.

  3. Deb April 18, 2016 / 10:34 pm

    I also found the facebook page and there is a person named Buffy Cater who says she is Sydney’s daughter’s grandmother, ie Sydney’s mother. And I agree that this Sydney looks like the Sydney on the missing person poster.

  4. Jeannee Waseck April 19, 2016 / 4:29 am

    You, my dear friend, I truly admire! because you not only put this website together – and maintain it, which can’t be an easy feat! – you are intelligent and ask good & reasonable questions!!! – like here! Perhaps the persons so involved will see this & contact you – wouldn’t that be something!

  5. Makoons Miller Tanner April 19, 2016 / 12:05 pm

    Super interesting! Amazing what info you can kind on the internet these days. I’m guessing she’s in hiding from disapproving family members a’la Chioma Gray.

  6. D'Lil April 19, 2016 / 11:36 pm

    Has anyone forwarded the info or called NCMEC about this? Since Meaghan and others have dug up some legit info, pass it on and then they can remove her poster. At least this case seems to have a happy ending.

    • Meaghan April 20, 2016 / 1:04 am

      Yeah, I called. Told them about how Sydney and her baby daughter Clementine went to the zoo earlier this month.

      • D'Lil April 21, 2016 / 12:54 am

        Awesome, good on you for making the call. Did they receive it in a positive way? Were they appreciative? We’ll have to wait to see if they pull the link poster sometime this year.
        I remember my state FBI link still had Heaven LaShae Ross listed as missing, long after her remains were found…I emailed the site with the news links. No arrests made but the public ought to know when remains are ID’d when they ask the public to be aware of a missing person.

Leave a Reply

