Charley Project travels

Next month and the month after that I will be representing the Charley Project at two missing persons events: Wisconsin’s second annual missing persons awareness event in Green Bay on April 24 (I went last year, you might recall), and the fifth annual National Missing Children’s Day Commemoration in Tumwater, Washington on May 15. I’ll get a chance to meet the families of the missing, and meet new people and explain what I do.

I’m going to Wisconsin by myself. Dad can’t go due to work obligations and the other person I asked also couldn’t go. So it’ll be just me. I’ll drive — it’s about seven hours. Traveling alone is a bit riskier for me than it is for other people, but this will just be an overnight trip so I think I’ll manage fine.

Michael will be accompanying me to Washington state. Of course we’ll be flying. I haven’t flown anywhere since 2009. I’ve also never been west of the Mississippi before.

And herein lies the reason for this entry: although I am definitely going to both of these events (barring unforeseen circumstances like appendicitis or something), it’s going to be expensive, particularly the Washington trip.

If any of you can find it in your hearts (and bank accounts) to donate a bit to Charley’s PayPal account to defray the cost of gas, hotels, etc., I would be extremely grateful.

13 thoughts on “Charley Project travels

  1. Natalie March 23, 2016 / 3:23 pm

    Meaghan, do you have any of the missing 411 books in your possession? I’d really like to read but live in the uk and Amazon wants £200 for it!!

    • Laura Riste March 24, 2016 / 9:11 am

      Don’t try to buy the books off Amazon, go to David Paulides website, there is a link there to follow to buy the books. Wayyyyy cheaper, about $25-30 instead of $200.

    • Meaghan March 24, 2016 / 9:24 am

      I gave them both to the library, sorry.

      • Megan March 25, 2016 / 1:11 am

        Did you put any of the cases from the books on Charley Project? If so do you mind making a list of the missing? If you remember them of course. That would be awesome!

  2. Natalie March 25, 2016 / 3:20 am

    Thanks everyone

  3. Keelan March 25, 2016 / 9:06 am

    If you don’t want to spend much money on gas and if driving is so risky, I would take the train. Longer it may be but you’re saving money and can relax. Surprised mommy or daddy cannot chip in, or if it’ll put a strain on your budget, do not take the trip at all.

    • Meaghan March 25, 2016 / 9:57 pm

      The train thing is really a great idea, one I had not considered. I’m going to look into that and see if it’s feasible.

      The problem as far as risk is concerned is not really the driving, but my autism and my bipolar disorder. My autism causes a lot of anxiety for me, especially when dealing with unfamiliar things and getting out of my regular routine. When I get lost, particularly, even when I’m close to home, I tend to absolutely panic and start screaming and crying and whatnot. And my bipolar disorder, though it’s well-controlled with medication at the moment, could rear its ugly head at any given time, and it’s probably more likely to happen when I’m away from home because of the added stress this causes. Back in 2008 (back before I even knew I had bipolar disorder) I took a vacation to Massachusetts and became extremely, suicidally depressed for no reason at all, and some pretty awful things happened as a result.

      So for me, it’s always better to have another person with me who knows what’s going on and can take care of me if needed, though I resent the fact that at 30 I basically need a babysitter when I travel. However, right now I’m doing better than I’ve ever been, and I think an overnight trip is doable.

      In a year or two, I plan to travel to Poland for a week or two. I definitely have to bring someone with me for that, because if I have a mental health crisis on another continent in a country where I know no one and can’t speak the language, I’m pretty much screwed, So far no one I’ve talked to really wants to go. It’s not your typical vacation: I wish to tour the Holocaust sites of Eastern Europe. Michael says he’ll come, but he’s not very enthusiastic about it and said he doesn’t think he’ll have a good time and he’s only going out of concern for me.

    • p.m. March 26, 2016 / 3:56 pm

      You seem a little mean in your comment. Why? I could be misunderstanding and if so i apologize. But I don’t think so. Why so rude?

      • Meaghan March 26, 2016 / 5:34 pm

        It looks like Keelan just thinks these trips are not worth donating for and I should either pay for it all myself or not go. Everyone is entitled to their opinion.

        I did check on trains but could not find one that runs from Indiana to Green Bay. I can pick up a train in Chicago, but that seems counterproductive. I wonder if I can exchange cars with my dad for the trip. I drive an old, huge gas-guzzling Buick; he drives a tiny fuel-efficient Smart Car.

  4. Lainey March 26, 2016 / 8:42 am

    Keelan’s comment above is a bit harsh IMO, and I think I recall that person or some other troll being really out there and causing a mess. It amazes me how you deal with the crazies, Meaghan. Wishing you a safe journey on your trips. Also, that’s a cool idea to visit Holocaust sites! You can even stop by and visit the Anne Frank musuem. Best to do it whenever you do your Poland trip in a year or so, since now there are far too many terrorist attacks and some countries here have already lost a little bit of that safe feeling like France! Let’s hope there will be some improvement! I live in Europe 🙂

    • Meaghan March 26, 2016 / 5:43 pm

      I am not planning to visit the Anne Frank House while I’m there. I probably would if it wasn’t so out of the way; it’s all the way on the other side of Europe. It would probably cost significantly more to stay there than in Poland. The price of a 4-star hotel in Krakow, Poland in July, the height of the tourist season, is only around $50 a night. I highly doubt Amsterdam could beat that. And I don’t care about the number of stars a hotel has as long as there are no rats or bedbugs and minimal roaches. 🙂

      I want to visit Auschwitz, Treblinka, the Jewish sites in Warsaw, and perhaps Theresienstadt/Terezin in the Czech Republic and sites in the Baltics.

      • Jessica Veltstra March 28, 2016 / 10:09 am

        I’ve been to Terezin/Theresienstadt. It was a sobering experience.

  5. D'Lil March 27, 2016 / 4:14 am

    Recalling your trip to Nashville last year -Reminder- please be sure to pack a car phone charger this time! And do you have AAA? From your own posts about your stress issues when driving alone, I hope you can get a travel buddy to go along with you. You already know your limits – hoping one of your friends will agree to Wisconsin with you. Or what about Greyhound?

Leave a Reply

