Growl. Muttergrumble.

I’ve been obsessively entering names into Newspapers.com today for info on older missing persons cases and gotten some good results. But some things are just not good enough. For example, I found a new photo of Megan Ginevicz, but it is of just such terrible quality that I am not going to use it. Don’t believe me? Check it out. I can tell it’s a different picture from the one I already have only because you can see her hand up in front of her face. There’s no point in posting this thing. I’ll just have to hope I come up with a better version somewhere else in the archives.

[UPDATE: Yay, someone found me a better version!]

8 thoughts on “Growl. Muttergrumble.

  1. Lauren March 7, 2016 / 11:55 pm

    If you focus on the upper white part of that picture it totally looks like a profile of Snoopy from Peanuts.

  2. Mia March 8, 2016 / 9:09 pm

    Ugh, this case makes me angry. What parent lets a two-year-old play outside by themselves? My son is four, we live in an area that could be considered both remote and wooded, and I’d never dream of staying inside while he played outside. At two, he rarely was in another room of the house alone. I don’t generally pass judgement on parents when it comes to missing kids in non-family abduction cases, but this just seems like a total lack of common sense.

    • Lauren March 8, 2016 / 10:37 pm

      I couldn’t agree more. I have 2 two year-olds and yeah wth? Running loose in a non-fenced yard?!? I am hoping there is more to this like maybe a teenaged sibling was supposed to be outside watching them or something but it doesn’t sound that way 😕

      • Mia March 9, 2016 / 8:43 pm

        If we had a fenced in back yard, I might be a little more lenient, as we know all the people who live nearby. But as it is, if he’s outside, I’m out there with him.

        It seems like the mother probably planned on keeping her eye on the baby, but got distracted with something else. I always wonder how authorities determine that a parent/caregiver is telling the truth in these situations.

    • Meaghan March 10, 2016 / 11:38 am

      I try very hard not to judge parents of missing children. In this instance I wonder if the mother had a lot of choice. She had two little kids, was recently divorced and working as a nanny/housekeeper for room and board but no salary. My guess is that the only money coming in was child support from the father. In such a situation, she’s got to work and she can’t afford a babysitter, and she may have thought: okay, rural area so no traffic and no strangers, I can do the chores and stuff and just check on Megan occasionally through the window to make sure she’s all right.

      I might add that I was born in 1985 and growing up in rural Ohio, I’m sure I played outside alone at age two. I know that by four I was going to the park (a few hundred yards away from home) and the corner of the block (maybe half again that distance) by myself. Parents are a lot more protective of their children now than they were back in the eighties. I’m not sure that’s a good thing. I’ve heard of parents getting CPS called on them for letting their school-aged children play outside alone in their fenced yard.

      • Lauren March 11, 2016 / 6:38 pm

        I agree with you, calling CPS in that situation is pretty ridiculous. I grew up in a little town in the 1980s much like the one you grew up in. When I was school aged I would play outside all the time supervised only by my large German Shepard lol.

        I think if was raising my kids in town like that they would have more freedom when they get older but where I live now? Certainly not the pleasantville of my childhood. It’s way more conjested with traffic, more crime too.

        I guess what I am saying is That I believe where people live is a big factor for in how much freedom they give their kids. Which is really too bad.

  3. Angela March 15, 2016 / 11:51 pm

    In the 70s, I was about 9 yrs old and my sister was 6. I remember we used to jaywalk across a busy highway to go to a store to buy candy. Not just a street, a highway! Wouldn’t dream of that now, but things were so different then.

Leave a Reply

