MP of the week: Timothy Geren

I’ve finally changed the missing person of the week for the first time in over a month. (Flashback Friday and Select It Sunday will resume this weekend, barring any unexpected events.) It’s Timothy Soloman Geren, missing from Modesto, California since March 22, 2012. He was 32 years old at the time and would be 36 today if he’s still alive.

I did some searching to see if I could come up with more info and found an entry in the CDOJ database which has another photo of him, and this Crime Stoppers page that has a small tidbit of additional info. He had just been released from jail when he disappeared — on what charge, I don’t know. I found this document that says he was convicted of car theft and drunk driving in 2009 and sentenced to four years. I wonder if that’s the offense. A release in 2012 would be about right, time-wise, assuming he got out early on parole or whatever, but it says he was released from jail, not state prison.

Anyway, beyond that I have absolutely nothing on Geren and haven’t updated his case since it got posted almost three years ago. If he was on parole from early release from prison, you’d think they’d list him as a fugitive rather than a missing person. The fact that he’s listed as missing rather than a fugitive may indicate the cops think something bad happened to him — but I don’t even know if he was actually on parole when he disappeared, or if his prior criminal activities are at all related to his disappearance.

MP of the week cases like this one present a dilemma: I want to take the opportunity to publicize cases that haven’t had much or any press, but those same cases hardly make for gripping material for this blog.

Geren does have loads of distinctive tattoos worth noting, though.

5 thoughts on “MP of the week: Timothy Geren

  1. D'Lil March 1, 2016 / 3:43 pm

    I clicked over here to post that news link on Jessica Cain but saw you already had, glad you did Kat. It does seem like a legit tip from the suspect, so he can stay in Texas. Just horrifying how many victims he’s been connected to, but not always charged with their murder/disappearance.

  2. Charley Project Fan! March 8, 2016 / 10:50 am

    HI Meaghan!

    I’m sorry to be random here but I don’t know where else to ask these questions or say this. I’ve been a huge fan of Charley Project for a long time and nearly everyday after school or at least weekly I like to relax in my room and read a ton of case files. Thank you for working so hard and I wish you much happiness and hope you get better and better in your personal life. My Q’s are:

    1) has anybody who had a case file on the Charley Project about themselves come to email you and tell you to take down their file? Due to not wanting to be discovered or whatever?

    2) Any cool/interesting stories of people locating their family members from here?

    3) Have you posted a post with a list of missing kids only, or is there a link on here? Hope this doesn’t sound creepy, but I do find cases about children much more intriguing than with the adults.

    I’m really interested! 🙂 I’d be really cool to know. Thanks!

    • Meaghan March 8, 2016 / 11:28 am

      1. Yeah, happens on a regular basis. People write me to say they’re not missing anymore, and when I check, usually they’ve been removed from the source database. If they haven’t been, I advise them to notify the source database. I also get emails from people featured in the resolved section who want to be removed from there, because they don’t want potential employers or whatever to find out they were once a missing person. I always agree to do so.
      2. Yeah, again, happens on a regular basis. Plenty of family members and friends of MPs I write about surface in the comments sections, or email me. Perhaps one of the most touching I’ve ever gotten was from a man whose father disappeared, was found dead and put in the resolved section. This person had never met his father, never known anything about him, never even seen a picture, but he found the one in the resolved section and wrote to thank me for letting him find out what his dad looked like. Another time I got an email involving an ancient case, 1950s I think, a little black girl who disappeared. I didn’t have much on her. Her brother wrote simply saying, “I’m so-and-so’s brother. Thanks!”
      3. No, I don’t have a master list of just kids, or just adults, or just anyone for that matter.

Leave a Reply

