“So now get up.”

“So now get up.”

Felled, dazed, silent, he has fallen; knocked full length on the cobbles of the yard. His head turns sideways; his eyes are turned toward the gate, as if someone might arrive to help him out. One blow, properly placed, could kill him now.

These are the opening lines to Wolf Hall by Hilary Mantell, one of my favorite novels and my definite favorite in terms of adult historical fiction. The “he” referred to is Thomas Cromwell, who was Henry VIII’s personal secretary and traditionally a historical baddie; the book attempts to salvage his reputation. The miniseries, available for streaming on Amazon, is really awesome too.

So. Anyway. Forget about Cromwell for a moment.

Last night after Michael went to bed I sat down and forced myself to start writing Charley updates. Just do a few, I told myself. Do some recent ones, pull them from the CDOJ database, to pad out the brand new 2015 space you’ve opened up. And one thing lead to another and I wound up doing more than just a few.

And today I wrote a Make-a-List Monday for next week. So things are coming back together, is what I mean.

I get in a very low frame of mind, is what I’m saying, feeling like I’m being kicked around this way and that by life, knocked flat on my stomach and still being beaten, and I wonder what the point is.

But really, there’s nothing to do but get up.

 

2 thoughts on ““So now get up.”

  1. Lori-jo February 25, 2016 / 9:32 pm

    Remember to be gentle to you.

  2. amy February 26, 2016 / 5:48 am

    Yep. You are right. And as John Lennon said to Paul McCartney- “We’re going to the Toppermost of the Poppermost.” I know it feels insurmountable but you are far stronger than you know. I’m not going to give the bs about “only getting what we can handle” because I know it’s crap, you know it’s crap, the whole thinking world knows it’s CRAP. Be kind to yourself. Hugs

Leave a Reply

