Visitation

I just got back from the visitation at the funeral home. I was surprised to see it was open casket. Nick looked pretty good, I guess. It was very sad. I felt so useless, standing there and having nothing I could do to help his parents but say “I’m so sorry.”

The funeral is tomorrow. There was talk of burying Nick next to my brother Brian, but apparently that’s not an option so he’s going in a different cemetery altogether. I got some information for local support groups that I’m going to give to his parents when I see them tomorrow at the service.

This is the first (and hopefully the last) time anything like this has happened in my family. We can only speculate as to why, but apparently there were a lot more problems than most people knew about, and my nephew must have been suffering horribly.

7 thoughts on “Visitation

  1. Emma February 4, 2016 / 10:20 am

    Megan, I am so very sorry for your loss.

  2. HennyLee February 4, 2016 / 10:54 am

    I am so very Sorry for your loss Meaghan. It’s so much harder when they are so young and it’s unexpected. That is nice of you to offer support group info you his parents. I hope they find healing soon… it’s such a long process. Thoughts and prayers to you and your family.

  3. Amy February 4, 2016 / 11:46 pm

    Again, I am so sorry.

  4. Brian Lockett February 7, 2016 / 1:15 pm

    Fate often hands out some really nonsensical things.
    Hope y’all (your whole family) can find a way to deal with it and push on.

  5. Christine February 13, 2016 / 2:57 pm

    Hi, hope you are doing well!

  6. Alison February 13, 2016 / 4:45 pm

    Very sorry to hear of you and your family’s loss

Leave a Reply

