Seeing them living, part II

I have written before about the pre-disappearance online presence of MPs. I just found another, while researching Steven Jones’s case (they’ve found the motorcycle, but not, apparently, his body). I’m quite sure that he’s the same Steven Jones who got sued six years ago because of some comments he posted on the internet. The place is right, the age is right, and my Steven Jones was apparently outspoken, just like the Steven Jones who posted the online comments.

Of course this has nothing to do with anything. I’m just throwing that tidbit out there.

4 thoughts on “Seeing them living, part II

  1. Lisa Thompson Graves January 28, 2016 / 9:47 am

    I’m really curious about the Tarkington brothers. Did they leave the compound voluntarily? Were they kicked out? Was there a raid? Inquiring minds want to know! 🙂

    • Meaghan January 28, 2016 / 9:50 am

      I too would like to know, but I couldn’t find anything.

    • Sara January 28, 2016 / 2:53 pm

      There was an article in the New York Times about it earlier this month. Apparently the charges against their grandfather, John Joe Gray, were dismissed, and he’s no longer a fugitive, but he a.) didn’t know about this for years, and b.) apparently refused to believe it when he was told. It has a picture (from the back) of a young man who is living in the compound. I wonder if this is one of the brothers? The article also has some quotes from Keith Tarkington.

      http://www.nytimes.com/2016/01/08/us/lesson-for-stalemated-sides-in-oregon-a-texas-standoff-without-end.html

      If they’re of age and made contact with police and confirmed that they were safe, would they have to remove them as missing people?

  2. kat January 28, 2016 / 9:00 pm

    I was going to ask about this, I didn’t fully read the article but when I saw the headline and Texas, compound, and Gray, I immediately wondered if it was indeed those children and their mother. What a tangled mess that is, though I have to give grudging credit….they outwaited the law.

Leave a Reply

