Make-a-List Monday: Famous Last Words

This is a list of MPs who said strange things before they disappeared, or left notes saying strange things. It was kind of hard to put together and I expect I missed some. “Strange” is just strange/mysterious as (rather loosely) defined by me.

  1. Ruth Annette Johnson Barber: “Where am I? I want to be with my baby.” I’m not sure she even had a baby.
  2. William Kelly Buntain: He was upset and crying and when someone approached him, he said his mother had died. She hadn’t.
  3. Lee Sterling Cutler: “I’ll finally get to sleep.” Apologized for “being a coward.”
  4. Kelly Bergh Dove: She called 911 from the convenience store where she was working alone and said a male customer who’d been harassing her all night was back and was “dressed improperly.”
  5. James Harig: “This looks like a good place to get lost.”
  6. Torey Clarke Newlin: “I don’t know where I am.” (Though that’s not so strange I suppose, given as he had taken a large dose of LSD.)
  7. Patsy Ann Ravens: “God calls me to do this and I must leave.”
  8. Andrew Brian Renton: Left a suicide note for his family claiming he had stomach/intestinal cancer. This was news to them, and they’re not sure whether it’s true, although he did have other health issues. Renton didn’t have health insurance and usually went to walk-in clinics when he was sick.
  9. Joseph Thomas Rodziewicz Jr.: He called his sister collect in 1995, six years after his family last heard from him, and said he was in Illinois and homeless. He was actually calling from Connecticut. He never called again.
  10. Annette Deanne Sagers: “Dad, momma came back. Give the boys a hug.” Presumably referring to her mother, Korrinna, who’d disappeared almost a year before.
  11. Benjamin Gomez Sagun Jr.: “I’m going to the father who loves me.”
  12. Jean Elizabeth Spangler: “Kirk — Can’t wait any longer. Going to see Dr. Scott. It will work out best this way while Mother is away,” The comma at the end is not a typo.
  13. Arkadiy Tashman: “Sorry about this. No wake, no funeral.”
  14. Cindy D. Valle: “I’m living with a lady.”
  15. John Melvin Wipert: “Gone to check out the cabin. Back tomorrow night.” There was no cabin close enough for him to be back by tomorrow night.

Honorable mentions:

  1. Melinda Karen Creech: I don’t know about Melinda, but her mother behaved strangely after she disappeared: in 1994, fifteen years after Melinda was last seen, her mom told everyone in the family that she’d been found dead. They didn’t find out otherwise until 2003. Melinda’s mother had died by then so no one ever found out why she lied.
  2. Susan Anne Swedell: She didn’t say/write anything strange, but she did change into a short skirt before leaving the house that day, which was odd because she was supposed to be just going to work at K-Mart and really outright insane because it was January in Minnesota and it was snowing.
7 thoughts on “Make-a-List Monday: Famous Last Words

  1. libraryjobber January 25, 2016 / 1:44 pm

    Dorothy Arnold: “All I can see ahead is a long road with no turning. Mother will always think an accident has happened.”

    Joseph Crater: “I’m going up Westchester way for a swim.”

    Beverly Sharpman: “Got married. Leaving town. Will not be back. Don’t worry.”

    Susan Powell: “It may not be an accident, even if it looks like one.”

    Maureen Fields: “Something’s going to happen.”

  2. Mia January 25, 2016 / 3:52 pm

    Wow. These are all pretty eerie.

    Thought of another honorable mention: the letter that arrived a day after Rachel Trlica went missing with the two other girls in Texas right before Christmas in 1974: “I know we’re going to catch it, but we just had to get away. We’re going to Houston. See you in about a week.”

  3. Lauren January 25, 2016 / 8:06 pm

    Great idea for a list! Love this!

  4. Catherine January 25, 2016 / 11:57 pm

    Fascinating list. I don’t remember reading the Rodzeiwicz or Wipert cases before.

    • Meaghan January 26, 2016 / 5:32 pm

      My guess is that Mr. Wipert left after what I like to call “getting a bad case of stark raving mad” and went into the wilderness and probably died. Alaska eats people all the time.

  5. William Baraby January 26, 2016 / 3:11 pm

    Great list. Looks like the police really let Kelly Dove down.

  6. Melinda August 9, 2016 / 11:54 pm

    Wow, Meaghan…you never fail to make the most interesting lists on here. I learn so much from this site.
    In the case of Susan Swedell, I’ll hazard a guess that she was meeting a secret lover instead of going to work, hence that would explain changing into a short skirt in freezing weather.

    With Melinda Creech (she shares my first name!) I hate to say this, but I believe her mother was somehow responsible for her disappearance and/or death.
    I’ve read that the mother was abusive to Melinda and her siblings so it’s not really a stretch to imagine that she played a part in the disappearance. It is indeed strange that she would tell people that Melinda had been found dead when there was no evidence of this.

Leave a Reply

