The method to my madness

Many people, including myself, have noted that I often enclose information in my casefiles that isn’t terribly relevant. Like where an MP went to high school or something.

I was thinking about that today while I was adding a bit of info to James McNeely‘s casefile. As to his disappearance there isn’t a whole lot to say: he drowned and was never found. But, when someone told me that in 2014 they had a memorial service for him and named a highway after him (or a section of a highway anyhow) I looked into the case again and found some more information. Mainly that there was another person in the boat at the time, and he was found drowned. I even found out where that other person was located — and the river had taken him well over 100 miles.

I think that’s super helpful. If the other man’s body was found all the way over near Tell City, Indiana, it stands to reason that McNeely’s might have traveled as far as that, or more. This would possibly encourage people to start looking at unidentified remains in Indiana and along the Ohio River instead of just focusing on the Kentucky River where McNeely went missing.

I doubt that McNeely will be found at this late date, close to 46 years later; it’s possible there’s nothing left of him to find. But it’s still a shot, even if it’s a shot in the dark.

3 thoughts on “The method to my madness

  1. Dee Wooded January 7, 2016 / 6:46 pm

    I think some information (like high school attended as you mention) , even if seemingly not important, adds context, fleshes out the story and adds even more human interest to it.

  2. visionjinx91 January 8, 2016 / 5:04 pm

    I enjoy the extra information you include in your cases. When I started looking at missing persons cases 7-8 years ago, Charley stood out to me because most other missing persons websites are very vague about their information and some only stick to the person’s description and where they were last seen. I have checked Charley’s updates almost daily ever since. The extra information you include paints a picture what kind of person these people were prior to becoming missing, and it also makes these people feel familar like you could have known them. Who knows, maybe some seemingly irrelevant information could be of some use by triggering something in someone’s mind. I’ve heard of people not realizing until later that a person went missing in their high school. Some missing persons cases, especially pre-90’s, were written off as runaways or voluntarily missing if they were an adult, and they fell between the cracks. That’s why I think information about their schools/hobbies/jobs is potentially useful information. Someone could know something that could be a vital clue to a case and not realize it.

  3. aginn0004 January 8, 2016 / 7:16 pm

    I think all details may potentially become an important piece of the puzzle. Extra information about the MP may encourage people to become interested in the case. I also agree with visionjinx91, missing persons cases were not taken seriously before the 90’s.

Leave a Reply

