My latest selfie

December 13, 2015
December 13, 2015

This is my latest selfie, taken last night. Back in October I decided to stop coloring my hair red, after twenty years. It cost over $75 at the salon every time I had it done and I felt that, since I was now 30 years old and supposed to be mature or something (hah!), I should spend the money on more sensible things. I always hated getting it done anyway. For me, as far as unpleasant experiences go it’s almost right up there with going to the dentist’s.

So I went back to the salon one last time and I had them strip the red dye from my hair as best they could (apparently it’s the hardest color to get off) and then dye my hair again, using my inch-long roots and a photo of myself from when I was ten years old as a guide to the color. A sort of ash brown. Although this photo makes my hair look redder than it actually is, I think it worked out pretty well, because I can’t tell the difference between the grown-out roots and the dyed hair.

The whole procedure cost like $125 to do, but it will be worth it in the long run because I’ll never have to dye my hair again.

3 thoughts on “My latest selfie

  1. ilovetrash December 14, 2015 / 6:30 pm

    i think your hair looks much nicer like this. it’s warmer, less harsh. if you want to put a little red in it, just get something like a cellophane from a sally’s, or amazon, even. deposit-only color, no lift. it won’t cost anything like 75 bucks, and it will bring in the little bit of reddishness that’s in the photograph. either way, though, i really do think your hair is nicer like this.

    that’s coming from someone who’s been dying her hair way longer than you, too, and probably will never stop. my big plan is to have guy tang do it in january [if you care about this, he’s on youtube], at least if he’s not booked; if he is, then february. i love dyed hair, when i made stupid money i used to spend….. wait for it….. about $650 a month getting it done. dyed and blown out straight. i don’t make stupid money any more.

    life is full of sadness, you know that. i add that here to let you know that, from reading your stuff, i can tell you that you’ve had enough to call your photos ‘self-portraits’ and not ‘selfies’. i was having a discussion with two friends about the difference, and it finally comes down to vanity versus truth.

    your weary [and rare], also headache-plagued correspondent,
    kafkette

  2. William Baraby December 15, 2015 / 8:24 am

    Very BEautiful Meaghan. You remind me so much of my daughter. I hope 2016 is your best year ever!! Thank you again for all that you do for the world. Merry Christmas.

    Bill

  3. Brian Lockett December 15, 2015 / 11:20 am

    When I was in high school, I’d put peroxide in my hair to bleach parts of it (it was kind of reddish, just not dyed red). It was close to prom (or something else “big”) and I wanted it to look normal again.
    So I went out and got the lightest shade brown dye that I could find. It turned my hair black as black could be (even worse than the peroxided shade). I kept washing and washing my hair to get some of the black out and it turned green. Not a “good” green either.
    I had to have the hairdresser mess with it with all kinds of chemicals to make it is normal looking as possible. It still looked a little funny, but a hell of a lot better than earlier.

Leave a Reply

