Taking it all back

So it looks like I’ll be going to Nashville, Tennessee for around about a week, leaving tomorrow evening. This is not 100% set in stone but I’m pretty sure I’m going. It’s kind of an impromptu thing that I just thought up this morning.

Michael is going to Nashville with some friends for a gaming convention. He had told me this before but I totally forgot, and he brought it up again last night. I remembered that my friend Jeff — this friend — now lived in Tennessee, in one of those -ville towns. I couldn’t remember if it was Nashville or Knoxville or maybe Jacksonville, but I thought: if it is Nashville I would love to visit him again. So I texted him. It is indeed Nashville and he would love to see me again too.

For me, it’s not just about seeing Jeff, although that’s enticing enough. I’ve known him since I was thirteen or fourteen years old. We’re like brother and sister. But it’s also about taking back what was mine. For years I have wanted to go on a vacation and have a good time with no incidents, no complications. The last time I tried that, in 2009, we all know what happened. I feel like Rollo stole my vacation and that by visiting Jeff again and doing the whole tourist thing, even in another city, it would be like taking it back.

Now it’s a matter of finding someone to take care of the cats, and making sure there will be room for me in Michael’s friend’s car.

5 thoughts on “Taking it all back

  1. Rosie November 18, 2015 / 10:25 am

    That’s wonderful news Meagan. Have a great time.

  2. CaptK November 18, 2015 / 1:47 pm

    Have fun

  3. Lori-jo Jaycox November 18, 2015 / 5:35 pm

    Nashville is a great touristy town.

  4. Robin-NH November 18, 2015 / 8:17 pm

    Have a great time!

  5. Lauren November 18, 2015 / 10:47 pm

    That sounds so fun! Have a great time!

Leave a Reply

