Tis the season for upper respiratory illnesses

Alas, I am laid low with an apparent throat infection. It’s been bothering me since Friday and I had thought to just let it run its course, give my immune system some exercise, but I feel worse and not better and aspirin etc. are not giving any relief from the pain. My throat feels like concrete. I called the doctor at 10:00 a.m. today and was told they couldn’t see me till tomorrow. I should’ve called straight after they opened; presumably the time-slots fill up early starting on Monday.

Anyway, I haven’t felt like doing much, certainly nothing that required any actual thinking. I did drag myself out of bed this evening and started working on a side project: I created a “minorities” blog category and then sub-categories and have started slotting entries into them. But with over 2,000 entries in this blog’s history this will take awhile.

I’m just hoping the doctor can give me something to make me a little more comfortable. She’s new and I don’t know her very well yet. Dr. Easley, who saw me through the Great Headache Crisis, would prescribe anything I asked for, up to and including morphine and fentanyl, the end result being that I have a whopping tolerance for opiates and can be still walking around on doses that would put most people in bed for a week. This new one is not like that. (Not that that’s necessarily a bad thing. In retrospect, Dr. Easley’s chucking pain meds at me probably made my headache situation worse. I don’t blame him; he was doing the best he could and neither of us knew what was going on at the time. I’ve just learned more since then about chronic pain issues and opiate medication is not the way to treat them.)

I had really hoped to run an entry every day this month, but it’s just not gonna happen. I suppose I would have broken my streak on Thanksgiving anyway.

Hopefully I’ll see y’all tomorrow.

6 thoughts on “Tis the season for upper respiratory illnesses

  1. Lauren November 9, 2015 / 9:49 pm

    I hope you feel better soon!

  2. HennyLee November 10, 2015 / 10:55 am

    Hope you are feeling better!

  3. Christine November 11, 2015 / 5:17 pm

    Feel better soon! We don’t mind waiting for your updates. We’re always here for you.

  4. Brian Lockett November 11, 2015 / 7:50 pm

    Don’t worry about your throat too much (no matter how much it gets on your nerves) until you see the doc. You should take Benadryl and prepare to get drowsy but it should help your with your throat until then.

    My mom’s an MD and I basically have spent several days/week at a doctor’s office since 1984, so I’ve built up immunity to a lot. I was sick a lot as a child because of being exposed to so much (I’d still get exposed through m’mum even if I wasn’t at the office myself).

    Antihistamines, either the “new” non-drowsy ones like Claritin or Zyrtec, or the old standby Benadryl/diphenhydramine (which makes you sleepy) should help a sore/itchy throat. If it’s very red or there’s “icky” stuff draining down, they’ll likely give you some kind of antibiotic to take for a week or so.

    • Brian Lockett November 11, 2015 / 8:16 pm

      Tried to send msg on Websleuths…
      If I neglected (as is likely) to put the link I meant to, here it is

  5. Michael Cartier November 12, 2015 / 12:10 am

    I do noniodized salt water nasal rinses often; especially when I feel a cold coming on. That in addition to a 1000mg of Vitamin C has kept me well for about the last year or so. Get well Meaghan.

Leave a Reply

