R.I.P.

A good friend of Michael’s was in a car crash and sustained head injuries a few days ago. She had a subsequent stroke on both sides of the brain. The brain scan shows black on about 75% of one side and half the other. I am writing this on my tablet as we sit around in the ICU waiting area. They are going to begin organ donation procedures soon. This is basically a death watch.

I barely knew Ellen and feel a bit awkward here among her friends. I have mostly been saying sorry and patting people’s arms a lot. I went in to see her and the room feels empty; I mean, I feel like I’m the only person present. Like there’s nothing there anymore, that Ellen as a human being is already gone. She was in her forties. Her husband and ex-husband are here. She was a teacher but had no kids of her own.

I doubt I will be leaving anytime soon. I doubt I will be able to update today.

On the bright side, Michael got a job offer today and accepted it.

5 thoughts on “R.I.P.

  1. HennyLee July 21, 2015 / 8:32 pm

    Congrats to Michael on the job. I am very sorry about his friend… May pieces of her soul live on through those that receive a second chance at life through her organ donations. And may she rest peacefully. 💗

  2. thewhistler77 July 21, 2015 / 9:50 pm

    That’s tragic and way too young : (

    Here on Long Island four young women – all early to mid twenties – were killed in a horrible crash over the weekend, all coming from a bachelorette party in a limo by a drunk driver. To make it worse local townspeople warned the town board for years that if new laws and separate lanes for limos were not put on the roads a

  3. thewhistler77 July 21, 2015 / 9:53 pm

    (con’t) tragedy was going to happen. They didn’t listen and now it happened. Be careful on the roads and be safe.

  4. Jer July 24, 2015 / 7:02 am

    My fiancé has a friend whose husband was driving a van with out a seatbelt on, when he was hit by a guy and was ejected out of the front window. They sent him to the hospital and they had to remove part of his skull and did extensive brain surgery but it didn’t work and they kept him alive long enough to do organ donation. He was a father of a three year old girl and he was a firefighter. I went to the wake and waited almost two hours in line. I didn’t know him, but it was tough for me as we were both just 35 and it felt like it could have been me.

    The guy who hit him had run a stop sign because he was being chased by the police. He was driving a stolen pickup and he had told a nurse that he had done meth and heroin that morning. He ended up with just a dislocated shoulder.

    Seems so wrong that the guy who hit him ended up with a minor injury while the innocent bystander died. So yeah, wear your seat belts!

  5. Cattt July 25, 2015 / 3:11 am

    OMG! So sorry to hear that! hugs (((((Michael))))

Leave a Reply

