Okay, finished writing up Relisha Rudd

I had dreaded doing Relisha Rudd‘s case because I knew it would take a long time to do and it would be very depressing. It did take a long time to do — around four hours, all told — and it was one of the saddest stories I’ve had to write in a very long time. Not her disappearance but her entire life. I praise the Washington Post for their excellent series of articles on her disappearance and the circumstances around it; they were the main source for my writeup.

Of course the Charley Project database is meant to be written in a journalistic style without passing judgement one way or another, but I hope the reader will be able to feel the outrage that I felt, reading what that poor girl went through.

Now I’ve got to find a few other cases to write up so I can reach my minimum number of five cases for the day’s update. I think I’ll pick easy ones. “Few details are available.”

God, I’m tired.

[ADDENDUM: I give up. Today’s updates will number only three.]

10 thoughts on “Okay, finished writing up Relisha Rudd

  1. Evie April 7, 2015 / 5:23 pm

    Link please?

    • Meaghan April 7, 2015 / 5:27 pm

      I haven’t put her up yet. I’ll link her when I do.

  2. Jessica April 7, 2015 / 8:14 pm

    There’s no photo of Tatum below the case summary.

    • Meaghan April 7, 2015 / 8:32 pm

      Whoops! Now I feel like an idiot. I’ll fix that.

  3. Kat April 7, 2015 / 8:34 pm

    I tried to make a comment, and it may have gone through a bunch of times, or maybe not. Keeps telling me to enter a valid email. Same one I’ve always had…..

  4. Kat April 7, 2015 / 8:36 pm

    ANYWAY, I was saying the file said “some agencies spell her middle name Tanau”, and so did this one, wondering if there was an apostrophe missing or something. And I thought this case just got press a few weeks ago around here. So very, very sad.

    • Meaghan April 7, 2015 / 8:38 pm

      There’s no apostrophe in her middle name that I know of. I’m not sure how to pronounce it.

      She has got some press lately, on account of it being the first anniversary of her disappearance. After the Washington Post’s expose about her unfortunate circumstances, the city finally got a playground for that shelter. It’s still the same awful place it was before, mind, it just happens to have a playground.

      • Kat April 7, 2015 / 10:34 pm

        Yeah, that’ll make things better. Sarcasm all the way! I don’t know if I’m pushing burnout or what, but I swear, the CPS/DCF, whatever they are in state, seem to get either involved way after they should have, or spend their time bothering people who don’t need intervention. A lot of CYA seems to go on when things go bad, but there seems to be very bad filters on case priority in general. As an aside, there was a case in OK I think, that had the little girl kidnapped to who know where by a “caretaker” who later killed himself. Still not found. The LE lose a lot when that situation happens.

      • Meaghan April 8, 2015 / 5:45 am

        I think the other case you’re talking about was Reachelle Smith; she was from North Dakota. She’ll have been missing for nine years in May. That case is pretty awful, but they all are — it’s not nearly the train wreck Relisha’s was.

        I read a lot of details about Relisha’s living situation that I didn’t include in her casefile. The shelter she lived in is the largest, and (I hope) the worst in DC. It’s in a former hospital. It was not meant to be used as a permanent homeless shelter and was only supposed to house the overflow of the city’s homeless while they looked for other options. Well, that was years ago. The old hospital has become a a de facto permanent shelter, but it was never supposed to be, so the city is reluctant to put any money into renovating it or taking care of its problems. Residents have been hospitalized due to bug bites, and one married couple interviewed by the Washington Post took shifts staying up all night to keep the roaches off their baby son. The running water, when it comes out of the tap at all, sometimes comes out brown and smelly. Sometimes there’s no heat. The staff take advantage of the residents by bribing/coercing them into sexual favors. There’s a lot of crime there. Etc.

        Oh, and the Post says it costs $1 million a month to run. *headdesk*

  5. Angie April 10, 2015 / 2:04 pm

    Wow, what an awful and inhumane place. And they seriously didn’t realize the guy wasn’t a real doctor until after she disappeared? Seriously?! That’s child services for you….

Leave a Reply

