Another pet peeve

A headline I found today: 4 Years Later: Man Indicted in Case of Missing Prince George’s Woman. I thought, ooh, a MWAB case. Then: huh, she’s not on Charley. Then: dang diggity darnit, she’s not missing.

I really wish news outlets would not say “missing person” in headlines when the person in question is no longer missing. How hard would it be to substitute “Murdered” for “Missing”? It would be a more accurate headline, and the word is only one letter longer. Hrmph.

What the….

Why is the the NCMEC all the sudden profiling disappearances from 1915? I mean, I appreciate that the boy was never found and everything, but isn’t a case that old a bit beyond the scope of their operations? Are they actually going to do an age progression to 115 years? Cause that’s how old Noel Elijah Davis would be by now.

I don’t know whether to add him or not. I suppose there’s nothing in the Charley Project’s own guidelines saying I can’t, and the Dorothy Arnold case is older than that, but I’ve got thousands of cases waiting for me to put them up and more requests coming in every day and I’d rather focus on people who have a snowball’s chance of being located.

Flashback Friday: David Stack

This week’s Flashback Friday case is David Arthur Stack, a rather beautiful long-haired eighteen-year-old who disappeared from Broomfield, Colorado sometime in June 1976. He was planning to hitchhike to California, possibly to visit one of his siblings; they lived in Truckee and Berkeley.

Truckee is a small town at the bend of California, with the Nevada border to the east and Lake Tahoe to the south. Google Maps says it’s a little over a thousand miles from Broomfield, a fifteen-hour drive along Interstate 80, or sixteen hours on the alternate route along Interstate 70 and Interstate 80 (the latter route does not have tolls; the former does). Berkeley is a much larger town on the other side of the state, 1,200-plus miles from Broomfield, about eighteen hours on I-80.

Obviously that leaves a very large swath of land where Stack could have met his fate (whatever that fate happened to be), assuming he really was intending to go to Berkeley or Truckee.

I know there were several serial killers of young men who were active in California during this time period. But I just don’t have enough information about Stack as a person, and about his disappearance, to speculate as to whether he met with foul play or an accident or just walked out of his life or what.