MP of the week: Asante Willoughby

This week’s featured missing person is a slender, handsome-looking black kid with delicate features named Asante Anton Willoughby, who disappeared from Chicago, Illinois on June 21, 1996, at the age of sixteen. The NCMEC doesn’t list him as a runaway; he’s classified as endangered missing. They have nothing else to say about him and I can find nothing about him anywhere else. Missing black teenage boys were not and are not considered good copy by the media; there may be nothing to find.

His case makes me think of Brian Kelvin Andrewin, another black boy the same age and size who disappeared from Chicago a year earlier. He is also classified as endangered missing with the NCMEC, though they used to list him as a runaway. Not saying they’re connected; I don’t have enough info to tell. In fact, I don’t have enough info to even speculate as to what happened to either of these young men.

If he’s still alive, Asante would now be 34. He’s been missing now for nearly as long as he had lived prior to his disappearance. What happened to him? I would love it if anyone who knew Asante (or Brian for that matter) could post in the comments section with their thoughts. Even if they know nothing about his disappearance, they could give a sense of the sort of person he was before he vanished.

8 thoughts on “MP of the week: Asante Willoughby

  1. Elliott Lanosa March 4, 2014 / 4:57 am

    This is all that I could find about him. My feeling is that he has passed away, or was lucky enough to “get away” but probably not with us anymore. Very sad.

    Originally Posted by alllads View Post
    It looks like he’s related to Malika C Willoughby, http://espn.go.com/espnw/news-commen…-espn-magazine

    Having dug a bit more, I’m now 90% sure that they are related. There’s a Zabasearch link for someone looking for Asante Willoughby, says it’s his mother Rebecca. http://www.zabasearch.com/messages/z…ristian+Asante

    Malika Willoughby’s mother is Rebecca Harp, same name as listed on the addresses http://www.uwmpanthers.com/sports/w-…_malika00.html

    Unfortunately, this also makes me think that the addresses are really old, as Malika Willoughby wasn’t living at that address for a number of years before 2010.
    WOW. so Asante’s sister Malika C Willoughby was charged with killing her lover and roommate in 2010. wow. that article you linked to is fascinating. so so heartbreaking.

    i wonder if asante and malika grew up in violence. it was chicago in the 90s. perhaps asante died at the hands of a gang. there isn’t any information about searching for him online. very sad.

  2. holly March 4, 2014 / 8:44 am

    Asante would be the same age as me. As a matter of fact, his birthday is one day after mine, down to the year. I was 16 that summer. And 34 now. Hope he is found.

    • Meaghan March 4, 2014 / 2:58 pm

      Deniese Hiraman was born one day after I was. Her case has always been special to me. I find myself wondering if she’s still alive. Though listed as a runaway, she was only thirteen and she’s been gone for a very long time. I wonder if she was trafficked and/or left the country.

      • Mion March 4, 2014 / 4:21 pm

        Wow, I just looked up my birthday and learned that both Jane Alice Kelsey and Delbert Arnold David went missing on the same day. They’ve been missing for exactly as long as I’ve been alive.

        I know it’s an insignificant fact, but it really helps put into perspective just how long 19 1/2 years is.

  3. Angie March 4, 2014 / 1:52 pm

    Pure speculation here, but I wouldn’t be surprised if the police have a pretty good idea of what happened to him, but aren’t releasing info until they have enough for a charge. Like that case you reported on last week that was listed as “few details are available” until the MP’s son was charged with his murder.

    • Meaghan March 4, 2014 / 2:54 pm

      I like to think — and often say — that just because little or nothing has been in the news about an MP case or unsolved murder, doesn’t mean the cops aren’t working on it. Good police officers and prosecutors make sure to line their ducks up in a row before bringing a case against anyone, to make sure the charges will stick and avoid a double jeopardy fiasco. I’m sure that in many cases, as in the Hatfield one, the cops are working quietly and diligently behind the scenes.

      The other day I updated the cases of Austin and Edward Bryant. Though the parents obviously did something to those boys, I don’t see any particular reason to rush through with a prosecution: the suspects are not going anywhere anytime soon. And

  4. Stacey May 14, 2014 / 3:58 pm

    I went to high school with Asante and considered him a good friend, I didn’t know he was missing until about 3 months ago when I noticed his face on the missing newspaper insert. Last time I seen Asante was about in 1996 had to be when we finished our sophomore year in high school at Madison High School in Milwaukee, WI. I was speaking of this with my cousin who was good friends with him as well and he did confirm when we finished school that year he did go back to Chicago and he has not seen or heard from him since either. I remember him being a nice kid that had to keep his smaller sister a lot I believe she was disabled too. I really hope he is found alive and well and just wanted to escape whatever was wrong, and just left. I will continue to keep him in my prayers

  5. Anna August 12, 2014 / 12:18 pm

    I got in contact with Nishawn Harp , she’s the sister or Asante and Malika Willoughy , she was born in 92. She said her mother was saying that he ran away & was never found .. he never came back. Rebecca Harp is the mother of all three. Usually runaways are found like weeks or months later. This case saddens me.

Leave a Reply

