Rene Albero Romero identified

Four-year-old Rene Alberto Romero is one of those particularly awful cases where the parents abused the child to death and his disappearance wasn’t noticed for some time. He disappeared from Las Vegas, Nevada and the official date of disappearance was given as November 28, 1994; I don’t know if that’s the date he was last seen, or a guesstimate, or the time he was reported missing, or what. It’s always been a kind of special case with me, since I found out the details of what happened to him. His three-year-old brother may have witnessed his murder. Both Rene’s mother and his mother’s boyfriend — who blamed each other for the homicide after they were caught — are serving time for his murder. [EDIT: Actually, it would appear the mother is out now. Sigh.]

Well, I just got word from authorities at the Utah Missing Persons Clearinghouse: a body they found in that state in 1996 has been identified as little Rene. The person who sent me the notice didn’t include any more details, and I have replied asking if there was anything else she could tell me about the UID — just out of curiosity.

I’m so glad Rene has been found. RIP, little one.

12 thoughts on “Rene Albero Romero identified

  1. Andrea622 February 6, 2014 / 12:08 am

    Such an adorable kid. So unfortunate what he ended up with as parents.

  2. Kat February 6, 2014 / 5:41 pm

    Lucky he was found at all, never mind id’ed. A lot of those smaller kids are usually not found, due to a variety of factors. I’ll be looking forward to more info.

    • Meaghan February 6, 2014 / 5:52 pm

      The person replied and unfortunately, it looks like I’m not going to get any more info. 😦 Oh well. The important thing is that he’s no longer missing.

  3. Eric February 21, 2014 / 2:23 pm

    This is Rene’s younger brother. Please email me contact number. I recently received a call from a detective in Reno that they are trying to close the case. Bio mother is out of jail

    • Rene D Romero August 5, 2015 / 9:31 pm

      ARE YOU REALLY BECAUSE IF U ARE I KNOW UR FATHER!!!!!

    • Rene D Romero August 5, 2015 / 11:16 pm

      Please If you really are Eric contact me @ sgkl1221@gmail.com
      and if possible try to connect me to Miguel. I know you guys even fi you not know me. DX

    • Jasmin October 4, 2015 / 1:28 am

      HI Eric, i just want to let you know that i am glad to have found you, and i hope that through all these years you and youre brother have been well. my name is Jasmin Romero and i am youre cousin from youre Biological Father, Please email me back when you read this. God Bless you.

      • Bea Recasens July 28, 2016 / 11:58 pm

        Hi Jasmin i was wondering if you uave been able to get in contact with Miguel or Eric? I am their cousin as well…on their biological mothers side…my name is Beatrice Recasens

  4. Kimberlee June 5, 2014 / 7:28 pm

    This was my nephew and I was very involved in the case/investigation. I had no idea he was found! I’ve thought of him (and his 2 younger siblings ALL THE TIME!) He’s never been forgotten and I even gave my son his name as a middle name. If you need more info, please, please contact me. k.bartch@yahoo.com

    • Beatrice Recasens June 5, 2014 / 9:37 pm

      Eric…I am your biological cousin…Rene was my cousin as well as your bio mother is unfortunately my aunt….I would love for you to get in contact with me my phone number is 530-249-8137…just know that we love and miss you and miguel…please atleast let me know how your are doing..

Leave a Reply

