A familiar story

Nearly three weeks ago, the Oceanside/Camp Pendleton, California Patch put out an appeal about the 1987 disappearance of eleven-year-old Elaina Rivera, last seen in Ramona, California. Very little information is available about her disappearance and the Patch article requested that anyone who had information about the disappearance, or about Elaina herself, contact them.

I think it’s great that they took the effort to do that. But, as far as I can tell, they’ve gotten no responses whatsoever. Just “few details are available in her case.” Which is the most depressing line to ever appear on Charley, and it appears all too frequently.

Elaina, you existed once and perhaps you do still. I know that face, and I want as many people as possible to know it as well. You deserve to be remembered. I only wish I knew something about your life, about the kind of girl you were before you walked into oblivion.

5 thoughts on “A familiar story

  1. Melissa Kent October 25, 2013 / 6:11 am

    I just find it so hard to fathom that a person, least of all a child, could disappear from the face of the earth, and all that is reported in official reports is “few details are available”. How. Does. That. Happen?

    I think that’s what intrigues me so much about MPs.

    • Meaghan October 25, 2013 / 9:12 am

      Maybe she was a border crosser? That would explain why no one has come forward with any details. This is of course just a guess, based on the proximity of Ramona to the Mexican border.

    • Holly October 25, 2013 / 10:44 am

      I believe the officials have more information than is made public, sometimes. Perhaps, sometimes not. For example, I read the blog that Sharon Murch, the mother of Michaela Garecht, who was kidnapped in 1988. If you search the internet for info on Michaela Garecht, you basically get the same information over and over again. But Sharon Murch has updated information that the investigators have provided her that she cannot share and is not made public. It’s a very valuable tool that LE has to ensure their case is not jeopardized. They are careful about what they make public. However, I do believe there are more than a few cases where the person simply vanishes and little to no clues are known – even to police.

  2. Shelly Heimer November 8, 2013 / 2:24 pm

    Elaina is remembered and her disappearance has been plagued by wonder, and I hope this article triggers someone to recommit to finding her – she was my friend, and I have never stopped wondering about her.

  3. Jess March 6, 2015 / 7:03 pm

    Per Elaina’s Aunt: “Elaina was my niece and she lived in Ramona California with her parents and brother for years prior to her gone missing. Her best friend was found murdered by *Ezra Adams who claims to this day to not have killed Elaina but did not denied murdering her friend. Since her disappearance and some years later the Muzzy Grade Road area in Ramona where she lived was burned pretty much to the ground. I ran a credit report on Elaina some years later and was called by the FBI within 24 hrs as to who and why it was ran. I was told at the time by an FBI employee to leave it alone. I have never felt that she was dead, but to this day I don’t know very much other than there were drugs and $$$ involved. My sister & husband’s (Elaina’s dad) lifestyle back then was not as it should have been raising two children. My sister has suffered much guilt and heartache over her past decisions, which if I were comparing her to anyone it would be “Sophie Choice”. Her husband, Elaina’s dad was killed years later in a pedestrian traffic accident. We remember them both almost daily but my sister has never been able to come to terms with it fully. I even went to a psychic once and she noted a noun “Stillwell”. I researched it to no end and could never come up with anything.”

Leave a Reply

