A YouTube message from Michele Knight, Amanda Berry and Georgina DeJesus

I got this from Peter Henderson’s Facebook page: the three young women rescued in Cleveland have made a YouTube statement thanking the community for their support. You get to see Georgina and Michelle’s faces for, I think, the first time since they were rescued.

Gina Michelle’s statement brought tears to my eyes: “I am strong enough to walk through hell with a smile on my face and with my head held high and my feet firmly on the ground. And I will not let my situation define who I am. I will define the situation.”

13 thoughts on “A YouTube message from Michele Knight, Amanda Berry and Georgina DeJesus

  1. Jose July 9, 2013 / 10:35 am

    I’m glad there, feeling better. Its gonna take time for them to recover from that hell. Michelle Knight, I think had facial reconstruction surgery.

    • Meaghan July 9, 2013 / 10:40 am

      It seems unlikely that she’s had surgery just yet. I think it takes time to recover from those operations and they were found, what, two months ago? I think she wouldn’t be healed yet. But I don’t know; I’m not a doctor.

      They don’t look as bad as I had expected. They look pretty normal in fact, though Michele looks older than she is.

  2. forthelost July 9, 2013 / 2:14 pm

    Georgina DeJesus really grew up. It’s a sad reminder of how long she was missing.

  3. Jaclyn July 10, 2013 / 12:34 am

    I am pretty impressed with these girls. I mean they could have went to a magazine, tabloid, or television with their story and made money, yet they decided to thank those that give them so much support by putting it on You Tube (not to say that it would be wrong for them to be paid for their story, per se). This brought tears to my eyes as well. I did hear that they will have the opportunity to attend college free of charge, if they choose to do so. We probably have not heard the last of their story. So, so happy they were found.

  4. Princess Shantae July 10, 2013 / 7:56 am

    They don’t look bad at all. Michelle does look somewhat older than she realy is, but her life has been terrible from the very beginning. She does seem to me to be fairly slow though. I remember a news story saying that when she went missing she was described as often being confused about her surroundings, so I guess she realy is mentally low functioning. Possibly why she ended up the punching bag of the group.

    • Meaghan July 10, 2013 / 9:13 am

      I had read (before she got found) that Gina was “learning how to read” at the time of her disappearance. I know she was in special ed, but “learning how to read” seems to be an exaggeration because it looks like she was reading her statement and I highly doubt Ariel Castro took the time to home-school her. She did stumble a bit but she certainly did not seem illiterate or semi-literate.

  5. Jenn July 10, 2013 / 12:19 pm

    I thought the quote about walking through hell was from Michelle? Anywho- her and Gina look alike to me in some weird way

    • Meaghan July 10, 2013 / 12:53 pm

      Watch the video again, you’ll see Gina reading it.

  6. John July 10, 2013 / 4:28 pm

    It wasn’t Gina. She doesn’t wear glasses in the video. Michelle does.

  7. Kat July 10, 2013 / 9:01 pm

    I think they all look great. Amanda reminds me of Stacey Keibler, and Gina and Michelle of someone else I can’t quite place, but that is beside the point. If they were starting on surgery, some of it would have been done already and healed. I am glad they came out to talk , last week some idiot sold pics of Amanda out and about visiting her dad and it bugged me. I am glad they are handling things so well, at least publicly. I am glad the public still continues to give them financial fallback. And I REALLY wish publication would lay off of Michelle for not wanting to see her mom. From what I read when she was recovered, all that woman talked about was money and the younger sister. At any rate, Michelle is grown and it is about time she was able to make her own choices.

  8. Julie July 11, 2013 / 3:20 am

    Hi Meaghan, it definitely is Michelle in the video reading that walking through hell and back and defining the situation piece, not Gina (although they do have the same haircut!)

    It also really is Michelle that Princess Shantae is referring to, about seeming slow, not Gina.

    A good way to tell them apart (besides Gina being Hispanic, lol) is that in this video Gina does not wear glasses but Michelle does.

    • Julie July 11, 2013 / 3:24 am

      Gina doesn’t read anything in the video, only answers a question. All she says is “I would say thank you for the support.”

    • Meaghan July 11, 2013 / 9:17 am

      Okay, my bad. Still incredibly touching message though.

Leave a Reply

