Another thing that I hate when it happens

I’m working on a list for a future Make-a-List Monday that requires me to basically look at every single casefile to see if it qualifies for the list. (I might have mentioned this before, not sure.) Anyway, the list involves the place the MP disappeared from. I googled “Oakland Township, PA” for Andrew Armstrong…and discovered there are THREE Oakland Townships in Pennsylvania.

And I have no idea which one he disappeared from.

Sandra Baker disappeared from Delaware Township, Pennsylvania. And there are FIVE of those.

5 thoughts on “Another thing that I hate when it happens

  1. Peter Henderson Jr. May 27, 2013 / 7:46 am

    Meaghan Armstrong is missing from Venango County, Pennsylvania. That’s just to the north of !-80, over the boarder to the east of Youngstown, Ohio. It’s to the north west of Oil City

  2. Princess Shantae May 27, 2013 / 8:31 am

    Pennsylvania is funny that way. Its full of Townships and City Townships and Upper this and Lower that. Ohio and Michigan and NJ have them too, but not as bad.

    • Peter Henderson Jr. May 27, 2013 / 8:47 am

      Princess Shantae,

      I have found it difficult to distinguish between unincorporated census designated areas and incorporated towns also. This problem pops up most often in Pennsylvania, New Jersey and Ohio, where multiple different jurisdictions are known by the same name.

      It took me several hours of going back and fourth between Google earth and news reports to accurately describe the location where a Jane Doe, known as “The Belle in the Well,” was found.

      If interested here is that report.

      Lawrence County Jane Doe.. Found on 4/22/81 south of the rural community of Dobbstown, Windsor Township, Lawrence County, Ohio.

      Nickname: “The Belle in the Well”

  3. NH May 27, 2013 / 9:10 am

    How about where people disappeared from, not city but location like say in their own car, another’s car, store, home, alone, with unknown person . . . Little info is available.

    • Peter Henderson Jr. May 27, 2013 / 10:24 am

      HN sometimes there is a abundance of information, more often then not there is very little. I looked up a woman missing from out west the other day. They have a great photo of her but when you looked for information there was one sentence. Last heard from by her sister, and the year. Nothing more.

      Sometimes virtually nothing is known then there is a brake. That’s what happened in the case of Karen Michelle Sterzl. Karen has been missing since December 22, 1990 but until last week very little was know about the circumstances surround her disappearance.

      You can see the update here.

      To be honest the four or five cases I know the most about, where I have been in contact with police, family and friends, I can’t write about. They are ongoing cases and I have been asked not to.

      One case out of Arizona I keep asking, is it OK? And I keep getting told; not yet. It involves a homicide and the man responsible is believed to be a serial killer. Someday I hope to be able to tell that story. I not only want to tell about the case and the victims, I want to tell the story of the youngest victims best friend.

Leave a Reply

