Well, this just blows me out of the water

I woke up a little before 2:00 a.m. (as I’ve tended to do lately) and shuffled out to the hallway, thinking I’d have a quick look at my email and settle down with my latest book. But I think it’ll be awhile now. Not only am I too agitated to read, but there are a ton of articles I’ve got to look at. As half the entire world has emailed me to say, they’ve found Georgina DeJesus and Amanda Berry alive! Along with a woman named Michelle Knight, whom I hadn’t heard of. They’re all okay, more or less, and Amanda has a kid.

Amanda disappeared from Cleveland, Ohio in 2003, on the way home from work. She was sixteen. Georgina was fourteen when she disappeared from Cleveland in 2004, on the way home from school. The cops had figured the cases were connected somehow and maybe the girls had been forced into prostitution or something. But word has it that they’ve been locked up in a basement dungeon all this time. Amanda managed to escape the dungeon and started screaming and trying to get out of the house, and a neighbor heard and helped her out, not knowing who she was, and she called 911.

The guy who lives in the house, Ariel Castro, has been arrested.

This case bears obvious comparisons to Jaycee Dugard and the Joseph Fritzl case out of Austria. And Marc Dutroux in Belgium. And Gary Heidnik in Pennsylvania.

Amanda, Gina, Michele…welcome home. We’re glad to have you back.

*starts playing “Accidentally in Love” by Counting Crows, the happiest song she knows*

13 thoughts on “Well, this just blows me out of the water

  1. Joachim May 7, 2013 / 2:56 am

    Wonderful news! Sad that Amanda lost her mother during her captivity. Apperantly her mothers health declined during her search for her. It all so tragic but I ‘m happy for the three girls!

  2. CarlK90245 May 7, 2013 / 5:40 am

    I saw that CNN used your casefiles for Amanda and Georgina, (as well as Ashley Summers, who is still missing) on Anderson Cooper’s program, and they cited Charley Project as the source.

    • Meaghan May 7, 2013 / 5:41 am

      Oh, cool, do you have a link?

      • CarlK90245 May 7, 2013 / 11:44 am

        No, It was on TV, and I didn’t DVR it.

    • Meaghan May 7, 2013 / 7:02 am

      You know, yesterday afternoon I got my hair done. The stylist wanted to make conversation, though I didn’t feel much like talking. She wouldn’t give up, though. As ever, I told her about my website and wrote down the URL for her.

      Now I’m imagining her watching CNN this morning and seeing Charley mentioned and being like, “Oh, I know the girl that runs that site! I dyed her hair just yesterday!”

  3. Saffy May 7, 2013 / 6:37 am

    amazing, and they’re all ok, thank god! I wonder who the little girl is. I imagine one of them probably was forced to have a baby during her captivity. I can’t believe 3 girls were there and no one saw a THING! for ten years!! Hopefully all the suspects will spend life in prison.

  4. Princess Shantae May 7, 2013 / 7:01 am

    According to CNN last night, Mr. Castro is a friend of Gina’s family, but how close of a friend I don’t know.

  5. Cattt May 7, 2013 / 10:44 am

    Yeah I just read it! Amazing! Its like they came back from the dead!

  6. Helena Warren May 7, 2013 / 2:30 pm

    Makes you wonder about Ashley Summers who went missing in the same area.

    • Meaghan May 7, 2013 / 2:33 pm

      Indeed. I do wonder if these three were his only ones.

      Marc Dutroux kidnapped several little girls and teenagers, and not all of them survived his dungeon. I know that in one case he had to go to jail for a few months for something-or-other and asked a friend to watch his captives, of which I think he had two at the time. His friend neglected his duties and by the time Marc got out of jail they had starved to death.

      • Helena Warren May 7, 2013 / 4:02 pm

        Yes, that was in Belgium wasn’t it? Awful case. Apparently Amanda Berry said there was another girl there when she was first kidnapped. Shocking stuff. I think there will be more to this story yet to be told. You do a great job BTW meaghan.

      • Meaghan May 7, 2013 / 4:05 pm

        I would not be a bit surprised if there are bodies buried in the backyard of that house.

  7. Sondra May 9, 2013 / 1:24 pm

    I just red that GIna was walking home with castro’s daughter the day she went missing. Great police work Cleveland 😦

Leave a Reply

