They changed their minds

The prosecution has decided that, on second thought, they’d like to try Geralyn Graham a second time for the murder of Rilya Wilson. As I noted previously, last month Geralyn was convicted of kidnapping and child abuse in Rilya’s case, but the jury deadlocked 11 to 1 for a murder conviction.

I’m not sure why the prosecution is doing this, frankly. Geralyn Graham is in her sixties and she got sentenced to 55 years in prison as is, so it’s not like there’s any real danger of seeing her walk free in this lifetime. Maybe they’re trying to get her to say where the body is? Dunno.

8 thoughts on “They changed their minds

  1. Saffy March 17, 2013 / 2:27 am

    i think you’re right. They’re probably trying to get her to tell them where Rilya’s body is, but it seems like such a huge waste of money and time. I think that they’re trying to play poker….tell us where she is and we may reduce your sentence, or we’ll just try you again. My guess is, they will reach a deal with her.

  2. Princess Shantae March 17, 2013 / 8:54 am

    I think they are wasting their time and the money of the taxpayers in Florida. She never told them anything before, and now she has even less reasons to tell them what she knows. She’s already in jail for the rest of her natural life. To be honest I think they did pretty good to get a 55 year sentence for her with no body and no physical evidence to say Rilya is dead other than nobody has seen her.

    • Saffy March 17, 2013 / 5:13 pm

      I agree. I hope they don’t try her again, it is a huge waste of time and money. She got a longer sentence than some murderers who plead guilty! Justice was done even if she didn’t get convicted of murder. Everyone knows she killed Rilya, but I do understand why the jury didn’t convict her.

      • Meaghan March 17, 2013 / 5:36 pm

        I’m not sure I would have convicted her. It’s a case of “I know she did it, but…” I read an editorial about this, where the writer said they were quite sure Graham was guilty, but praised the lone hold-out juror and said they’d have voted not guilty too.

  3. Princess Shantae March 17, 2013 / 8:12 pm

    Justice might be done for Rilya’s death, but there is never going to be justice for how uncared for and unloved she was her bwhole miserable life. NOBODY cared anything for her. Her crack ho mother can say how Rilya stands for remember I love you always but its BS. She loved her pipe more than she ever bloved any of her kids. Rilya wasn’t even “just a job” to the social workers. She was a job they wanted to avoid doing. The poor child was just thrown away from day one, and they could put Geralynn Graham in the electric chair tonight and it would be justice for her killing her, but there’s no punishment in the world that would be enough for what she went through before she died.
    I read once someplace that the opposite of love isn’t hate, its indifference. I believe it. To hate somebody you at least have to notice them and care enough to hate them.

    • Meaghan March 17, 2013 / 8:32 pm

      Well said, Princess, well said.

      I’m glad Rilya’s sister Rodericka, anyway, has escaped that fate and was adopted. So many children miss out on having loving, stable homes. They stay in foster care for years and years while their bio-parents get chance after chance to clean up their act, and many times that just doesn’t happen.

      One of my dearest friends adopted a three-year-old way back in the day. My friend said she was asked to take care of the kid for one weekend, and the rest is history. I don’t know much about her daughter’s problems, but she came from a very bad background with abuse and whatnot and had a lot of mental health issues growing up. She’s in her twenties now and lives in a group home for disabled adults.

  4. BeLa March 18, 2013 / 2:45 am

    We were asked to do emergency foster care for sisters, aged 1 and 2, “just for the weekend.” Been 18 years now and that darn social worker still hasn’t picked them up ;o). Took 5+ years of typical OCS bs (oh the stories I could tell) before we were finally able to adopt them. I’m told its rare for children to spend their entire time in foster care without changing homes. Some say our daughters were lucky, we think we’re the lucky ones. Just wish it was a loving family that were lucky enough to get Rilya. And how did someone like Ms. Graham manage to pass the background check to become a foster parent in the first place?

    • Meaghan March 18, 2013 / 5:12 am

      Geralyn Graham has used over 40 alias names over the years and, I would imagine, different SSNs as well. That’s probably how she passed the background check. That and/or the DCF screwed up the background check too. That wouldn’t surprise me at all.

      I look at the adoptuskids.org website a lot; it has photo listings for kids in foster care who are available for adoption. Most of them older children of course, and the little ones usually have some serious medical issues going on. If you’re a baby who went long enough without being adopted that they decided to photo list you, there’s usually a reason for that.

      I would never adopt myself though. It’s a great thing for people to do, but I wouldn’t be a very good parent and because of my medical issues, they probably wouldn’t accept me anyway.

Leave a Reply

