This is a new one

As Charley Project viewers know, I’ve got three MWAB lists: convictions, acquittals, and trial pending/I don’t know the outcome. Well, I don’t know where to put Ruben Gallegos now.

Ruben disappeared from Hawaii in 1992, at the age of nineteen. Jenaro Torres (a cop, disgustingly enough) was convicted of his murder in 2007, but the conviction got overturned on appeal in 2009. So he got moved from “convictions” back to my “trial pending” list. Well, Torres just reached a plea agreement with prosecutors: no contest to first-degree assault. Sentence: ten years in prison, plus five for using a gun in commission of the crime. He must serve at least five years. (Needless to say, the community is outraged, or at least the commenters on this article are.)

A no contest plea is pretty much the same as a guilty plea, and normally I return this on the convictions list. But, well, he wasn’t convicted of murder, he was convicted of assault. You could make the argument that it belongs on the acquittals list instead.

I’m not sure if I’ve ever encountered this problem before. If I did, I don’t remember what I decided. Thoughts, anyone?

Or maybe it doesn’t matter to anyone but me?

3 thoughts on “This is a new one

  1. Princess Shantae March 9, 2013 / 6:56 am

    I’d just put it back in convictions and let it go. It isn’t that important, and he is going to jail even if not for murder. He’s ruined anyway no matter how soon he gets out of jail.
    I can’t remember names now, its too early in the morning but I know some people on your site have pled down or been convicted of lesser crimes when there’s no body. Child abuse, obstructing justice, that kind of thing. Its frustrating that they don’t get the book thrown at them but without a body I say we do pretty good to get them on lesser charges.

  2. archie sdmf March 9, 2013 / 7:49 am

    that’s a huge problem to me also! i’m 40, & seen a lot of murder trial’s that just let it go! that’s compete BS to me

  3. A June 4, 2015 / 1:12 am

    That guy was my dad…. doesn’t surprise me that he did what he did. Unfortunately justice for many of his haynes crimes have gone unpunished. I am a personal witness to that, growing up in his house! I’m sorry for the families he’s brought pain to.

Leave a Reply

