Two more ET entries from me

The Executed Today blog went down like a week ago. I thought it had stayed down — my browser was telling me that — and wondered if the Headsman would ever put it back up or whether he’d called it quits or what. But it turns out the blog went back up within a day or so and my browser was lying to me. (*smacks browser* Bad Chrome! Oh, wicked, bad, naughty Chrome! Oh, wicked, bad, naughty, evil Chrome!) I had to empty the cache to see it. Anyway, two entries by me that were published during that time:

Not Shaike Iwensky/Sidney Iwens, a seventeen-year-old Lithuanian boy who survived a Nazi massacre in Latvia because the SS had run out space in their mass graves.
Jake Bird, ax-murderer and probably a serial killer.

7 thoughts on “Two more ET entries from me

  1. Saffy July 14, 2012 / 6:15 pm

    I did one of those searches for holocaust victims. most of my relatives were living here at that time, on my mother’s side anyways. My father’s side of the family doesn’t have a very common surname so I searched with the original spelling and found ONE woman, who died in the Ukraine in 1941. All they know is she was shot, but since there are few real details, it’s likely she was shot during Operation Barabarossa. There’s a ‘page of testimony’, basically a document with any information that could be found, completed by her great great grandson who lives in Israel. Most of it was in Russian and Hebrew. Some people did survive the shootings when they missed and lay under piles of dead bodies until it was safe to escape.

    • Meaghan July 14, 2012 / 6:28 pm

      Yeah, in my Babi Yar massacre I talk about Dina Pronicheva, who survived by playing dead: http://www.executedtoday.com/2010/09/29/1941-babi-yar-massacre-holocaust/

      I read another book called “I am the Only Survivor of Krasnostav” written by the sole survivor of a massacre of all the Jews in her hometown of Krasnostav, Ukraine. The victims were made to strip naked before being shot, and this woman survived by hiding under a pile of shoes.

      I am familiar with pages of testimony and have submitted a few myself. You might want to try alternate spellings of the surname. With the Holocaust in Eastern Europe you’re dealing with the Latin alphabet (German, Polish, etc.), the Hebrew alphabet (Hebrew and Yiddish) and the Cyrillic alphabet (Russian, Bulgarian, etc.) so the names gets transliterated all different ways. Meyer can be Meir or Myer or Meier for example.

      • Saffy July 15, 2012 / 11:48 pm

        yes, exactly. My paternal surname is not that common and my father told me the original spelling. The name of the Town where she died was Kremenchug, in the Ukraine. Probably not too far from Krasnostav. There is very little information aside from that.

      • Meaghan March 9, 2013 / 12:38 pm

        Saffy — the other day I wrote an ET entry that will run next January, about the 1942 execution of the mayor of Kremenchug. His name was Senitsa Vershovsky. He tried to save the Jewish population of the city from the Nazis, so the Nazis killed him along with them.

        As far as anyone knows, Senitsa Vershovsky was the ONLY authority figure in the Nazi-occupied USSR who died under these circumstances — paying with his life for trying to help Jews.

      • julia June 16, 2015 / 10:21 pm

        Hi Meghan, if you have any information about Kremenchug ( a city in Ukraine) please get in touch with me. Our organization (RememberUs.org) is helping Kremenchug community to commemorate the victims and we are gathering all possible artifacts.

      • Meaghan June 17, 2015 / 5:07 am

        Alas, I don’t know anything specific about the victims. Good luck with your research though.

  2. Julia June 21, 2015 / 9:39 am

    How can I get in touch with Saffy? Can you please pass my message and ask to send me an email. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

