Siiiiigh.

Got a message on Facebook:

I am demanding my son [his name snipped] be remove off your web site and demanding he is not place any more into any website your company is related to or else I will be more than happy to file a complaint with the court, for slander, as well as assisting kidnapping of my child, which was abuse by his father and step mother. Currently I have sole legal custody and the picture that is being blast on the site was stolen out of my home by his father. I am a victim of domestic violence and your company is the reason my son was abuse by his father as well as has been molested, after being place in the foster system…. Remove my name of your site as well as my son name and picture… this is a demand. your company place people name on the website base on lies and deceived.. If our name and picture does not get deleted, i will file a complaint with the court

[Her name snipped]

Well, lady, news for you:

1. I don’t run a company.
2. You don’t know what “slander” means.
3. The Charley Project has never assisted in anyone’s kidnapping or in the abuse of any child.
4. You kidnapped your kid. The kid’s father never abducted him that I know of.
5. Your name is not listed anywhere on my site.
6. I had to look up your kid’s name because I couldn’t remember who he was. He’s buried deep in the resolved section, having been found three years ago.
6. Go to hell.

23 thoughts on “Siiiiigh.

  1. libraryjobber July 12, 2012 / 10:22 pm

    This woman takes crazy to a whole new level and her grammar is abysmal. Thank goodness her son was rescued.

  2. Rhettarot July 12, 2012 / 10:33 pm

    The foster care system is appallingly corrupt.

    • Meaghan July 12, 2012 / 10:42 pm

      Regrettably true. If this poor child was in fact abused in foster care, that’s unfortunate but I didn’t cause that.

      It’s worth noting that not all foster parents are evil. I know a woman who adopted a little girl out of foster care. She was supposed to just take care of her for a few days, and wound up keeping her forever. The kid (now a young woman) has all sorts of challenges of both the physical and mental kind and was presumably very difficult to parent, but my friend adores her.

      • Rhettarot July 12, 2012 / 11:56 pm

        that’s uplifting to hear 🙂

      • Meaghan July 13, 2012 / 12:14 am

        Another person I know who’s very involved in the search for MPs and founded her own group for that, was a foster parent for decades. She loves children and had decided not to have any of her own due to bad genes, so she fostered like 40 kids.

  3. Lori July 13, 2012 / 1:20 am

    I am so confused. If he has been found and she has supposed sole custody…..why should it be removed? She sounds like the Pol that come to where I work-delusional. And no there are many great foster families out there but of course the bad ones get all the attention.

    • Lori July 13, 2012 / 1:21 am

      That should say people, not pol

    • Meaghan July 13, 2012 / 1:21 am

      It sounds like it happened like this: She abducted him, he was located and given to his father, who subsequently lost custody, he was placed in foster care, his mom got him back. And she’s mad that he’s still listed (deep in my resolved section) as having been abducted by her. Yet she did kidnap him, way back when; the fact that she has custody of him now is not relevant.

      • forthelost July 13, 2012 / 5:27 pm

        I’m thinking that he was placed in foster care after being found and she got custody back from there.

        Incidentally, he’s resolved on my site too and I haven’t heard a word.

    • Rhettarot July 13, 2012 / 1:24 am

      I wasn’t just talking about foster families Lori; I was also talking about the government agency behind it.

      • Lori July 14, 2012 / 1:03 am

        Many times the workers are doing the best they can with what they have…..its broken but its all we have. Not all stories that come out are horror stories either, there are so many that are good outcomes….but again, those aren’t heard about much. There is a lot wrong with the system though as well…..and working with a broken system is dificult.

  4. Princess Shantae July 13, 2012 / 12:48 pm

    It makes me tired trying to read something as stupid as that. Why should I pay any attention to anything you write or take it seriously when it looks like a 6yo wrote it during a temper tantrum?

  5. Jenn July 13, 2012 / 2:24 pm

    Wow Meaghan I must say I don’t know how you even read that. I hardly could! That was a bad mix of broken English and bad grammar! She’s a weirdo- she’d have to go WAY back to see it on resolved list. Furthermore- she obviously doesn’t get the concept or grounds you could get someone in trouble for legal slander… And also how could you have assisted with his abduction? And how are you responsible for what foster parents do? This gave me a good laugh.

    • Meaghan July 14, 2012 / 2:06 pm

      The word “slander” is actually misapplied here. What she means is libel. Libel is written. Slander is spoken. People often get the two mixed up.

      As you probably already know, Jenn, truth is a defense for slander/libel. In fact, unless you are either giving out untrue defamatory information out of malice, or you are giving out untrue defamatory information with “reckless disregard for the truth” then you can’t be held actionable. Also, if a person doesn’t have a reputation to lose (like, say, a person who happens to be a convicted serial killer cannibal) you can pretty much say whatever you like about them without being held actionable. The person would have to prove you caused damage to their reputation over and above what damage they had already.

      *shuffles notes, steps off podium*

  6. Kat July 13, 2012 / 8:26 pm

    Amen to the go to hell. Do the crime, do the time. I always tell my girls, think about what you do cause the internet is forever. That said, real tired of the backlash to M. on her posting stuff. That long ago??? C’mon. Let it rest lady, or do your worst. Oops. Ya just did, ragging on M. for no reason. Look how the troops came out 🙂

  7. Leslie July 13, 2012 / 9:26 pm

    Some people are just bat shit crazy.

  8. forthelost July 13, 2012 / 9:48 pm

    At least you didn’t get twenty-three identical irate comments, though.

    • Kat July 13, 2012 / 10:05 pm

      Er. Is that us? I hope not. Bad day on your site? If so, refer to the batshit comment…..I always find it funny how those doing the most good catch the worst flak. Must be a Murphy’s Law thing. 😉

      • forthelost July 13, 2012 / 11:11 pm

        Yes. I clearly say in my comment/post policy multiple identical comments will be considered spam and deleted.

        My favorite crazy was when I was called both a misognyistic man who had lost custody of his kids and a misandrist female who only cared about women’s rights in the same week. The first one was because I didn’t defend a woman who had abducted her child. The second was because I didn’t defend a man who had abducted his child. Good days.

  9. Kat July 13, 2012 / 11:22 pm

    Or, as my teenage girl would say, good times, good times. Look at it this way….you are probably the only person to get call two diverse names in one day! On the other hand, like I said..those who do the most good get the most bad…and the batshit!

  10. Janessa July 15, 2012 / 11:56 am

    You tell that b!t*h Meaghan!!!!
    Talk about making a fool of yourself!

Leave a Reply

