Media, finally, in Leanne Hausberg case

Per her sister: there was finally some media attention in Leanne Hausberg‘s disappearance, in the form of this local TV segment. When I first started getting interested in MPs around 1998-1999ish, Leanne’s case — she went missing from New York City on March 18, 1999 — is one of the first ones I connected with. I’ve wondered about her ever since.

Unfortunately, even with the TV thing I still don’t have a lot of info in her disappearance, and neither, it seems, does anyone else. She just seems to have evaporated from the street corner where she was last seen. The police classify her as a runaway, and her family believes she met with foul play, but really there seems to be no evidence pointing to any particular theory in her case.

11 thoughts on “Media, finally, in Leanne Hausberg case

  1. L June 3, 2012 / 9:55 am

    Gone for so long…too bad no one knows who this older man is

    • Meaghan June 3, 2012 / 10:54 am

      They might know who he is and just not be saying it on TV.

    • Nicole August 9, 2016 / 2:22 pm

      Yes way too long this is her sister and it’s been 17 years now .

  2. Kat June 3, 2012 / 6:06 pm

    I know this sounds just horrid, but bear with me here for a moment. She disappeared I think from the Bensonhurst area, right? To reach more people, a la Without A Trace, maybe they should think about promoting her case on the last ABC soap, General Hospital. They have a few characters from Bensonhurst (or so written). I know it sounds crass but ABC is trying to garner favor (and viewers) after cancelling One Life To Live and All My Children. What could it hurt to ask? The tie in would be logical and the case would be put out to a few million other people. Show her pic at the end of a few epis, and maybe something will come of it.

  3. Kat June 3, 2012 / 6:07 pm

    Bear??? There are days I can’t even believe what I’ve written. You know what I meant.

    • Meaghan June 3, 2012 / 6:13 pm

      I believe “bear” is the correct word. “Bare” only means “naked” or “stripped.” “Bear” is either an animal or a verb meaning to endure.

      • Kat June 3, 2012 / 8:01 pm

        Neither one looks right to me right now…I think I’m having just a few of those days.

  4. Vanessa August 20, 2012 / 10:32 am

    Does anyone know why her web page says “today is August 9th, Leann’s 27th birthday, and a miracle has happened today. I will post this story later in the day, please come back later!”

    • Nicole January 22, 2016 / 5:51 pm

      What’s the mircal that happend it’s her sister

  5. Nicole August 6, 2013 / 11:58 pm

    I’m her sister we haven’t heard nothing in 14 years it’s going to be her birthday August 9th she’s going to be 29 years old now so many years with out know where she is nothing my dad made that website for her .

    • Vanessa August 7, 2013 / 9:15 am

      Nicole, can you contact me directly at blue_butterflyzz@yahoo.com? I knew your sister for a short while before she disappeared.

Leave a Reply

