A medley of some random things

It’s Friday the Thirteenth, but it’s after 10:00 p.m. now and nothing catastrophic has happened to me yet. I did leave my computer power cable in Ohio and had to drive all the way back from Michael’s to get it, but that’s hardly a tragedy, just annoying.

Looking back on all the other Friday the Thirteenths of my life, I can only think of one that was a terrible, horrible, very bad day. I was eight years old and in the third grade, and one of the second-grade teachers had been killed, along with her twin ten-year-old daughters, in a horrible car accident. (She hadn’t been MY second-grade teacher, but still.) Her memorial service at the school was on Friday the Thirteenth and it was, needless to say, a real bummer, and just about everyone cried, including me. But mind you, she had actually died several days before and the service just happened to be scheduled that day. So, fah, Friday the Thirteenth! I spit in your face! I fart in your general direction! *little does she know that a cruise missile is headed RIGHT TOWARDS THE HOUSE RIGHT NOW*

I don’t think I’ve ever mentioned Muertos’s Twitter account before. In addition to tweeting about historical events and debunking crazy conspiracy theories, Muertos tweets about Charley Project cases just about every day, sometimes more than one a day. For example, today he’s done Joseph Rodriguez (don’t you want to just pick up that sad-faced little boy and hug him?) and Della Hilliard. He might make an official Charley Project Twitter Feed in the future. As you might recall, I had broached the idea of doing one myself and asked my blog readers’ opinions, but I decided against it because I’ve got enough on my plate.

My beloved Cracked has done a list of creepy unexplained disappearances, including Jean Spangler and Ray Gricar. Alas, no links to Charley are included in the article, but it’s a good one all the same. I adore Cracked and read it every day.

10 thoughts on “A medley of some random things

  1. Princess Shantae April 13, 2012 / 10:53 pm

    What’s little Joe’s problem there? He looks pretty glum.

    • Meaghan April 13, 2012 / 10:59 pm

      In really old photographs, people are frowning more often than not because the pictures took a long time to take and you had to stay absolutely still, and it’s much harder to maintain a smiling expression than a frowning one.

  2. libraryjobber April 14, 2012 / 1:13 am

    Back in the day, having your picture taken was a really important occasion. Film was expensive, and so people tried to look dignified and serious. At least, this is how my Grandma explained it.

  3. Melissa April 14, 2012 / 6:23 am

    Interesting! The Tamam Shud case is an Australian one, and there is much more to it than what the writer could obviously fit in to the article. I believe they narrowed the man’s identity down to a few possibles, but most of the key players are now deceased so it’s at a dead end.

    ‘Cracked’ looks great. Another to add to my daily reading list 

    • Melissa April 14, 2012 / 6:27 am

      Oops, got a little ahead of myself there! I meant to write, check out the ‘top 5 unsolved mysteries’ list. It is also enthralling. That’s where you’ll find the Tamam Shud case 

  4. Ilya Sitnikov April 14, 2012 / 7:06 am

    I think that I would put Asha Degree and Tara Calico in my own top 5…

    • Meaghan April 14, 2012 / 7:08 am

      What about Kevin McClam?

  5. Ilya Sitnikov April 14, 2012 / 7:45 am

    Never heard of that one before..and it does sound pretty peculiar, indeed! (reminds me of a story of another missing person whose name I forgot – where people saw her crying on the phone shortly before her disappearance).

    I’m also thinking that I should add Brian Shaffer and Jason Jolkowski (whose disappearance led to creation Project Jason). .

    Its almost like they vanished into thin air…but I’m pretty sure that somebody knows or heard something…

  6. L April 15, 2012 / 1:55 am

    I wonder how in the world little Joseph’s case could ever be solved now….

    • Meaghan April 16, 2012 / 12:58 pm

      I don’t think it can be. If he survived his abduction chances are good he’s died of natural causes by now. He’s a good example of how I consider Charley to be a memorial site as well as a true-crime one.

Leave a Reply

