Sigh….

A woman whose sister is on Charley wrote to me and asked me to correct an error on the casefile. I did so and then wrote back saying the change had been made, and specifically told her to refresh the page if it looked like nothing had changed. She replied angrily, saying the error was still there, and then asked the law enforcement in the charge of the case to ask me to remove the casefile altogether.

I am trying to prevent that from happening, and have written to her again explaining that I’ve already done what she asked me to do and she has only to refresh the page to see it, but I wonder if I’m going to get anywhere.

5 thoughts on “Sigh….

  1. Robin Cox February 11, 2012 / 7:21 pm

    Also tell her to delete her cookies in her internet settings! :X

  2. Eva Marie Leger February 11, 2012 / 8:04 pm

    I’m going to guess no. It sounds to me like she’s angry at someone else and directing it at you. 😦
    I would think anyone would be grateful to have their loved one profled. Anyone innocent should think the more attention the better no?
    😦

    • Meaghan February 19, 2012 / 10:32 pm

      This happens sometimes. The most egregious example I can think of was when a woman wrote me asking me to remove her daughter’s casefile. Her daughter (an adult) had vanished some 20 years ago and someone had just been convicted of murdering her.

      Anyway, the mother wrote me requesting the removal, and I was away from the computer at the time, and didn’t get on till nearly 24 hours later. And by this time she had written me FIVE TIMES demanding removal, each time getting more belligerent, accusing me of ignoring her, demanding to know “look, what is your problem?!!” and by the end of it threatening to sue me if I didn’t take it off. I was a bit taken aback, to say the least. I did remove the casefile and wrote her and pointed out that she hadn’t waited at all, and that I’d been away from my computer and certainly hadn’t been ignoring her. She wrote back again angry, accusing me once more of ignoring her and being insensitive.

      Later on I told a friend about it and said, “I’d like to know what her problem was.” My friend said, “Her daughter was murdered.” I said, “I didn’t do it!” and my friend was like, “Makes no difference. She’s not rational.”

  3. Cattt February 12, 2012 / 6:09 am

    She doesn’t sound like she’s paying attention. Why would you go to the trouble of correcting it, then commuicating with her that you have completed what she had asked when you could have easily ignored her? Helloooooooooooo!

  4. Andrea February 28, 2012 / 3:48 pm

    It’s really sad that you put so much effort into this site and keeping cases in the public eye (many of which have long been forgotten) but people still lash out at you. You are a great person for dedicating your time to the Charley Project and more people should appreciate you and your work!

Leave a Reply

