Tussionex is a wonderful thing…when you can get it

After my strep throat this weekend, the urgent care clinic prescribed Tussionex for the cough. That was the most troublesome symptom I had, as it was keeping me awake. Well, I took some, then I took a second dose and…accidentally spilled the rest. It was really runny for some reason. All the Tussionex I’d ever had before had been thicker, syrupy, but this was like water.

No problem, I thought, and called Dr. Easley’s office and explained the situation and asked him to phone in a script for me. He did so and I sent Mom to the pharmacy to pick it up. She came home empty-handed. The stupid insurance company was refusing to pay for a second bottle so soon and neither she nor I had $80 to buy it out of pocket. So for the next two days I was in much misery. I could barely sleep at all and I was coughing horribly and straining the muscles in my abdomen. It got to the point where, every time I coughed, it felt like I was being punched in my lower left side just above my hip.

I took aspirin and even applied Icy Hot to that region, without much result. My mom found some old cough syrup from a long time ago, but it expired in like 2004 and it didn’t seem to do me any good. Oh, and did I mention that my throat was so messed up I could barely talk at all. It hurt and it was hard to make myself understood to others. I think the actual strep throat is well on the mend, it’s just the after-affects I’m dealing with now. One time after a bout with strep throat several years ago, it took me six weeks and a course of steroids to finally stop coughing.

Well, the stupid waiting period or whatever finally passed and Mom was able to get the Tussionex for me this morning. Now I feel much improved. Not coughing so much, and my voice is somewhat better.

What is it with insurance companies and waiting periods? If it’s a valid script and covered under the plan, they ought to pay for it. If they have questions as to whether or not it’s valid, they can find out the truth easily enough by calling Dr. Easley’s office. Why make me wait for two days when I was in such discomfort?

7 Responses to “Tussionex is a wonderful thing…when you can get it”

  1. Carole Moore Says:

    They do it to insure that you’re not reselling it or addicted to it and using more than you should. It’s really more about drugs like vicodin and traffickable substances, but in my police career, I ran into a number of people addicted to cough medicine.

    I agree with you that the insurance companies make stupid rules, though. If you want to really deal with soul-suckers, then you go straight to Medco, which contracts with insurance companies to handle prescriptions. Worst. People. Ever.

    • Meaghan Says:

      I could totally see how someone could get addicted to Tussionex. It’s sweet stuff. (Meaning, it makes you feel good, and it actually does taste kinda sweet too. Not horrible like most cough medicines.)

  2. Kathie Says:

    SO sorry to hear you had strep! I had it for the first time since childhood recently and OMG I have never been in such pain. Actually went to the ER to get antibiotics 2 days quicker….and later found that my evil insurance didn’t cover the whole visit. So, for literally 1 minute of the doctor’s time, one pill and a prescription I paid $250. Ughhhhhh. Then because I couldn’t swallow without crying I tried a Norco from when my husband broke his leg last year. Worked GREAT…but….the second one made me so sick I almost had to go to the ER again! I forgot…back in the 90s I had a nasty reaction to Vicodin after my wisdom teeth were pulled. Opiates are not my friends. Sigh. Anyway, strep’s a horrible illness and I’m very glad to hear you are better!!!

  3. Roxy Says:

    Each dose of Tussionex contains approx 10 mg of hydrocodone…hence the strict policy on refilling too soon. Unlike normal pills, this liquid form makes the “high” hit faster and last longer, thus making it highly valued by opiate users.

  4. Mdmatthew Says:

    As an employee of medco I can tell you that the waiting period for the narcotics isn’t a company rule but a guideline set by the DEA and the RPHA…. Exactly for the reasons above… Sounds like you had a manufacture error or a shitty dispensing from your local retail pharmacy….. This should have been handled at the filling pharmacy by the techs. And RPH there… Next time you have a problem with a med’s quality always bring it back to the pharmacy and the should exchange it for any unused portion. Contacting your insurance company won’t do shit as it takes at least 48 hrs. To get an authorization for an early refill probably longer with narcotics….. When are people going to learn that most retail pharmacy is a joke and always check your med’s AT THE PHARMACY COUNTER.

  5. Ron Alarcone Says:

    There are many ways of helping the body in dealing with infections. Home remedies for strep throat are various and they include many aspects: diet, natural antiseptics, natural analgesics or natural antibacterial cures. Used appropriately, home remedies for strep throat can speed up the process of healing by fighting bacteria and by stimulating the immune system of the body.*

    My favorite web page
    <,http://www.healthmedicinelab.com/ear-infection-treatment/

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,929 other followers

