Article about NamUs

I found this press release about NamUs, saying it now numbers 15,000 cases. I found 5,743 missings; the press release says there are over 7,000. But I think some of them aren’t visible to people who aren’t registered users, and I never registered.

I think that within a year or two or three, the number of MPs on NamUs will be greater than the number on Charley. Charley covers cases at least six months old; NamUs covers all cases, even those a day or so old. With so many people working for them, NamUs can theoretically add an infinite number of cases per day; I can rarely add more than ten. So without a doubt, NamUs will eventually get bigger than Charley. Which is how it should be. It’s kind of embarrassing that one person from Ohio runs the largest MP database on the internet while the huge, well-funded federal government lags so far behind.

Charley’s always going to be more detailed than NamUs, though, in terms of telling the story behind each disappearance.

8 thoughts on “Article about NamUs

  1. Lisa May 7, 2011 / 6:38 pm

    I love the details you have on the cases! While looking at NamUS a few days ago, I searched some random cases and noticed Beverly Potts (1951) is not on there. Wonder why.Your site is still number one with me! I go back a long time with you!

    • Meaghan May 7, 2011 / 7:10 pm

      There’s no reason why she shouldn’t be on. Probably it’s just that no one has added her yet.

    • forthelost May 8, 2011 / 10:54 pm

      I can add her if you want. I add cases there all the time, especially ones not on NCMEC or NCMA or other sites like that. I probably didn’t add her before because of the age of the case, but there’s cases on there even older than that now.

  2. marycarney May 7, 2011 / 6:49 pm

    Amen! One of the reasons I am drawn to missing persons’ cases are the incredible stories you tell about them!

  3. Kevin May 8, 2011 / 1:26 am

    Have you ever thought of asking for a grant from the government. after all, law enforcement, private groups, and the general public use this site as a major reference point. I think it is something you should look into. Quite honestly, I wouldn’t have an issue at all if you decided to put ads on here if that would keep the site up to speed, maintained, and of course all the work you put into it. It is quite a task and I think you should be compensated for the time you put into it. I don’t think you should look at it as if you were making money off of missing persons in the least. You are providing a very important public service and tool. A point could be made that if you did have a revenue stream from here that you would be able to add more recent cases and even international ones. The doenetwork is a nice site, but I find this site much more informative and detailed. I would be interested to know how many detectives, DA’s, and ME’s check this site on a daily basis. I’m sure a lot. Anyways, that’s my message for the day. Great job on the site. Those who view it frequently know how much work it is to maintain.

    • Meaghan May 8, 2011 / 1:41 am

      My boyfriend has been riding my ass for years about the idea of making some money from Charley — at least enough for the site to support itself, and maybe enough to support me in the process. I’d really rather avoid it if I could, though. As it is I am accountable only to myself. But if I had a government grant, I’d be accountable to the government, or if I had ads I would be accountable to my advertisers, and it would complicate matters. The issue has never been taken completely off the table, though.

  4. Dust May 8, 2011 / 3:11 pm

    I agree with Kevin,and if you were to write-up a grant proposal(with your own parameters)and it was accepted,you could keep it as is.

  5. Kevin May 8, 2011 / 5:02 pm

    Look at a site like Websleuths.com. It provides a platform for cases and such and they have all kinds of ads on there. At the top of the page, it even has something that says if you wish to have the ads removed it can be done so for $35.00. But there is LaQuinta hotels on there, cruise ships, you name it. I really don’t think it is much of a hassle for whomever owns that site n dealing with the advertisers. They get paid by the click and then gets check at the end of the month. You can also have a say in which advertisements would be on Charley too.

Leave a Reply

