Jolene Riendeau found dead

Jolene Riendeau, a ten-year-old girl who had been missing from Montreal, Quebec since April 1999, has been found dead. The police are refusing to say where or under what circumstances, but they are treating her death as a homicide. Of course it’s not over yet. From this article:

Pina Arcamone, executive director of the Missing Children’s Network in Quebec, accompanied the parents of Jolene, Soucy and Rene Riendeau, Wednesday morning to a police station to receive the news.

Arcamone said the family was told police were doing tests on the remains and meeting with witnesses in the case. “We hope to have some answers very soon.

“Of course they are wondering when did this happen and what happened to their daughter, where was the body of their daughter found and, especially, who did this and why someone wanted to harm a young girl, not even 11 years old?” Arcamone said.

“It’s too soon to talk of grieving or closure,” Arcamone said. “They still have a lot of questions. Their pain, their suffering, their anxiety will continue until the investigation will be finished.

Tags: , , ,

5 Responses to “Jolene Riendeau found dead”

  1. Marlene Says:

    I live in that area….I never thought they would find her!
    my feeling is that she was killed by someone the mother knew, or maybe her father. But it had to be someone she was familiar with and I always had the feeling it was someone the mother knew or had dated. I wonder if we’ll ever know.

  2. emilie Says:

    Good day I am fom Montreal and I can tell you that here it is some kind of relief to know that she was finally found because for 12 years she has been one of the main missing person here. The mystery around her disapearance was the main problem because nobody remembered seeing her after she came out of the store. I know that there has been one person who has been suspected by the mother to be the one who took away her daughter but never had the proof. I hope this all come to an end soon and that her family can live thair pain in private.

  3. Celeste Says:

    :( I live in Ontario. :( It’s always hard on parents to live with the fear of not knowing if their child is alive or dead. Jolene Reindeau’s case shocked the nation not just Quebec. But her parents can now find solace in knowing that they can give their precious little girl a proper burrial. :(

  4. Germaine Pelletier Says:

    My sympathies to the family, even though they now have her body back, nothing will replace this beautiful child in their hearts. I have a daughter and giving her freedom when she was young was difficult even though I live in a small community. I now have 7 grandchildren, 6 girls, and the fear of something this horrible happening to one of them is always in back of my mind. I pray for this family, may God keep you,

  5. Maria Isernia Says:

    I feel so bad for this family. Having 4 children of my own, I could never imagine losing one. This is no doubt a parent’s worst nightmare. I remember Jolene Riendeau so well and I always prayed that she would be reunited with her family. This is the sadest news to ever get but at least the family can now let her rest in peace.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,929 other followers

