50 missing people in 50 days

As I’m sure everyone knows by now, Nancy Grace is in the middle of this big “50 missing people in 50 days” thing on her show, profiling one case per show for 50 days straight. I think she’s somewhere in the thirties by now.

While it’s a fine idea, and I’ve been able to milk some smidgens of information, extra photos etc., off her from this, I kind of wish she wouldn’t profile so many cases that have been done to death. I mean, Kyron Horman, Haleigh Cummings, anyone? And, for older cases, Etan Patz, Johnny Gosch? They’ve all had so much exposure. It would make my day if Nancy Grace instead profiled some case I’ve been curious about for years but have zilch on. Like Larry Krebbs, or Robert Bowling, and Jeanine Barnwell or something.

But of course, that would probably not be as profitable.

I’ve thought of doing some similar thing for my blog, but I already have a featured MP of the week on Charley’s frontpage. Which I need to change sometime today…

21 thoughts on “50 missing people in 50 days

  1. danielle March 8, 2011 / 10:28 am

    she did Jodie Huesentruit (spelling?) too, which was the only one I watched. But too many high profile cases, you’re right.

    • Kat March 8, 2011 / 12:57 pm

      Huisentruit, I think. Cnn. com also carries this “50 persons” crud. I don’t think it is anything other than publicity. I’ve seen on WE tv, the datelines on whatever about some of these cases, including, JH.

  2. Liz O March 8, 2011 / 11:08 am

    I hate the lack of information on Robert Bowling. Did you see the WebSleuths string where they found someone on MySpace that has the same name, birthdate & looks like the age progression photo?

    • Meaghan March 8, 2011 / 11:08 am

      No, I don’t follow Websleuths anymore. No time.

    • rachel d June 1, 2012 / 8:26 pm

      i was told of that myspace the same person is aatually on fb too i called today and reported it if you compare the ap pics and the profile pic there is almost no doubt it would be robert bowling BUT he seems to be well known he has won awards and such in the entertainment field so it seems its to obvious you know being known and still having the same mane…. but you never know

  3. Princess Shantae March 8, 2011 / 11:09 am

    That’s less work for Nancy b/c she already has lots of info on those cases. And anyway she’s a performer. Her first job is to get good ratings for her show, not help bring missing people home or actually find justice for people. Justice and publicity aren’t the same thing.

    • Meaghan March 8, 2011 / 11:24 am

      Hence my remarks on profit. 😦

    • danielle March 8, 2011 / 11:36 am

      agreed….ACTRESS putting on a show (pretending to cry)….. but she’s got a LOT of fans and followers and even wannabes

  4. Jer March 8, 2011 / 12:39 pm

    Since this is the only MP website I follow, I didn’t know Nancy Grace was doing that. I’ve never watched her show or paid any attention to it. The few times I’ve heard about it, I didn’t hear very good things about it…

    • Meaghan March 8, 2011 / 12:49 pm

      I don’t watch her show either. I don’t watch TV at all. I just go to her website sometimes for case info.

  5. Erin March 8, 2011 / 4:42 pm

    I know she has a photo of Cherrie Mahan on her site, but did she actually do a show about her?

    I feel that if she dug deep enough into older cases, she could probably find the ‘drama’ she’s looking for in order to sell the case. Not that she should have to, but I agree with her being a performer. She’d need the ratings.

    I’m surprised she hasn’t taken the recent location of Carlina White and used that to feature other children that could have had the same fate. Just my thoughts though..

    • Jaime March 8, 2011 / 6:11 pm

      Yes she did a show on Cherrie Mahan. It was in the first 2 wks of the series. It was really good to because the detective assigned to the case announced that someone has come forward after 26 years with info that could bring answers to Cherrie’s mother. Have you also seen the article on foxnews.com titled Father of Murdered 5-year old says he’ll make sure killer suffers same fate. Apparently a guy that murdered this 5 year old is going to be released early.

  6. Princess Shantae March 8, 2011 / 5:29 pm

    I can’t stand her. Just her voice gets on my nerves. She’s supposed to be from Mississippi or Alabama or something but she sounds like she’s trying to hide her accent. Which is a shame. There’s nothign wrong with sounding like you’re where you come from, and what she ends up with is a gross and wierd sounding accent. Like she’s got something stuck up her nose way in the back.
    She kinda sounds like people from the Outer Banks, only phony.

  7. JanZ March 10, 2011 / 3:32 pm

    Nancy Grace gets on my nerves as well. And I think she’s only maybe done 5 of the 30 shows, so I don’t know why the show is named for her. I def thought the same thing when she was doing already high profile cases. Less cost, more sensationalism. Sooo many other kids out there are in danger and nobody knows about them. Thank God for ppl who do highlight these children through websites, facebook, and satellite radio.

  8. Kevin March 11, 2011 / 12:25 am

    Nancy Grace has a helmet hairdo.

  9. Princess Shantae March 11, 2011 / 8:13 am

    See, that’s another thing. She’s got assistants and stylists and stuff out the wazoo and this is the best they can do with her?

  10. Kevin March 11, 2011 / 6:01 pm

    How about that guest she puts on who looks and talks like her identical twin? What’s up with that?

  11. Kat March 13, 2011 / 10:25 pm

    Late comment here, but if anyone ever watched Passions, I think it was, they but Tonya Walker on there as a character named Grace Nancier….my girls used to watch that show and I laughed my butt off. Except no one could be quite as brash as NG is. I wouldn’t mind her style so much, John Walsh can be harsh, but she NEVER lets anyone speak so much as a full sentence. For what she says she is trying to do, the least she could do is make it less about her opinion show and more about showcasing what she proclaims to be her goal. Gad, shut up and let someone else talk. I was so disappointed her in sudden self absorbance I quit watching the show years ago. It’s a shame really, she could do a lot of good.

  12. nicole russell March 25, 2011 / 11:49 pm

    the case about missing prosacator:hislast case that he was working on wa a big drug bust.do you think that he looked up on his computer something about the drugs or how he could he get the drugs.than he stole the drugs embariest , ashamed to face his family.on the tv show they talked about his last case and that it was the biggest drug bust in his career.if he is alive that would be the only reason that he would throw his computer in a lake.

Leave a Reply

