Grandma died today

After a protracted decline, my grandmother finally died this afternoon. She was 87 years old. She had been very sick and on hospice but this had happened several times before and she’d always pulled through — my way of putting it was “Grandma is dying again.” But since my aunt, her favorite daughter, died, Grandma just seemed to give up.

I was visiting my mother when the nursing home called. There was a man working on Mom’s kitchen cabinets. I was about to leave. I picked up the phone, handed it to her, went upstairs to get my stuff, came down and said, “I’m going.” And the cabinet man said, “You’d better stay.” And I noticed Mom was crying and then I knew. I wound up fetching the minister and then calling my siblings and my uncle and my cousins to let everyone know. Then I drove Mom to the nursing home and several of us — Mom, Dad, me, my brother and sister-in-law, my sister and brother-in-law, and my uncle — all sat around communing with Grandpa and the dead body. There was a shortage of chairs but only my sister was brave enough to sit on the bed where Grandma was lying.

Eventually the funeral home came and took Grandma away and I suppose the funeral will be Monday or Tuesday. Grandpa is rather devastated. They had been married for something like 55 years. (Not bad since he was her third husband. Though the second one barely counts. He left her in Texas during the honeymoon, packed his stuff and all their money and disappeared in the middle of the night, never to be heard from again. Grandma had to wire her parents for funds to get back to Ohio.)

Frankly, I’m glad it’s over. Grandma was in a lot of pain.

11 thoughts on “Grandma died today

  1. Justin August 28, 2010 / 4:53 am

    Sorry for your loss. Don’t know what else to say.

  2. Zoe August 28, 2010 / 8:02 am

    Can feel like relief when that happens, and almost like you have almost grieved already. Hugs!

  3. amy August 28, 2010 / 8:51 am

    I am so sorry for you loss. We lost my mom 2 years ago and my parents were married 52 years. My father has been a wreck since. Grandpa is the one who is going to need all the support he can get for a while, but don’t be surprised if he doesn’t take a lot of it at first.

    If you need anything, let me know!

  4. Nan August 28, 2010 / 9:32 am

    *gentle hugs*

    May you Grandma’s memory be nothing but a blessing to you.

    Nan

  5. Humbled_Observer August 28, 2010 / 11:43 am

    My grandfather died a year and a half ago, after being sick for many months. He was 87. He had struggled to breath during the last few months and it was almost a blessing that his suffering was over.

    The way I see it, our relationship isn’t confined to time and distance anymore. He’s with me in memory all the time.

    RIP
    Lester Waddell

  6. Jaime August 28, 2010 / 11:48 am

    I’m so sorry about your loss. Cherish all the great memories you have.

  7. marycarney August 28, 2010 / 1:54 pm

    So sorry! Praying for your family today.

  8. orla August 28, 2010 / 8:43 pm

    Meaghan and family; when my Gran died last year I took comfort in something a friend said to me “she only died at the end of her life”.

    At first I thought what a stupid thing to say but it makes sense really; sounds like your Gran lived a long and event filled life and has now gone to her rest.

    Hope you can take something from that also.

  9. ssawyer August 29, 2010 / 12:45 am

    I send my deepeset condolences and prayers to your family.

  10. vanessanicole21 August 30, 2010 / 1:42 am

    Sometimes it’s more of a relief when a relative who is suffering dies. My grandma in law died all of a sudden at the age of 89 after going through a stroke a couple of years ago. She was in physical and mental tip top shape, but we could tell that her mind was slowly deteriorating. She had minor dementia to begin with, and she even said when she goes she just wanted to pass on and get it over with so we wouldn’t be burdened with anything else.

    RIP for your grandma; my condolences and thoughts for you and your family.

  11. Lia August 30, 2010 / 2:19 am

    Love and condolences to you and your family, Meaghan.

Leave a Reply

