Interview with Florida reporter

A Florida newspaper reporter interviewed me by phone today. She was doing an article about Lisa Mowrey, and in general why some people get a lot of attention when they disappear and some people do not. She was very nice and I think she might quote me or something. She took pains to make sure she had my name spelled correctly (I always appreciate such efforts). I sent her a previous blog entry I wrote on the subject of missing people and media attention.

This has thus far been the highlight of a rather crappy day. I was violently sick earlier. I have hypoglycemia, which usually isn’t a problem, but I often forget to eat for long periods and I sure paid for it today. Groan. My fault.

6 thoughts on “Interview with Florida reporter

  1. Justin March 25, 2010 / 3:11 am

    How are these reporters getting your phone number? Calling information?

    Think of yourself as a diabetic and EAT REGULAR MEALS!!!

    • Meaghan March 25, 2010 / 5:10 am

      She emailed me asking for an interview. I called her.

  2. michael March 26, 2010 / 12:22 am

    Add almonds to your diet. Keep those in a baggy with some dried fruit with them and that should help you. Almonds are the best food to stabilize blood sugar levels.

    • Meaghan March 26, 2010 / 1:36 am

      I had not known about almonds. I will have to keep that in mind; thanks for the tip.

      In July 2008, I was hospitalized for depression and I was so miserable I didn’t eat hardly anything on the first day. That night I woke up with a hypoglycemic attack, splitting headache, etc. I went to the nurse in charge and asked for food, explaining about my medical condition, and she refused to help me. She lied that the hospital would not bring food to me in the middle of the night. I spent the rest of the night lying in bed in much pain and misery (and low blood sugar levels can contribute to depression). It was one of the worst nights of my life. The morning shift got me some food. I never found out whether the nurse got in trouble or not. I suppose she just didn’t believe I was really sick.

  3. danielle March 26, 2010 / 5:01 am

    …I was hospitalized too and the psychriatrist told me almonds also help with depression. So does tuna.
    We had a diabetic and the night nurse did not give him food either. We did have a vending machine and he had no money so he kept hitting the vending machine hoping something would come out.
    Sometimes, those types of life’s experiences make us stronger people. In any case, Please take care of yourself!!

  4. jaime March 27, 2010 / 11:21 pm

    I read an article about another child that hasn’t gotten much attention over the years. The stepfather is still a suspect it sounds like.
    leominsterchamp.com has a really nice article about the 29th anniversary of the disappearance of Taj Narbonne.
    It is titled disappearance still on minds after 29 years.
    His grandparents are still angry that he doesn’t seem to get very much attention.

Leave a Reply

