Final West Mesa victim identified

And it’s…Jamie Barela. She was fifteen years old when she disappeared from Albuquerque on March 26, 2004. It’s really no surprise that the last victim turned out to be Jamie. She went missing with her cousin, Evelyn JesusMaria Salazar, and Evelyn’s body was identified as one of the Mesa victims two months ago.

So now every body is accounted for. Now they just have to catch the monster who did this.

Articles:
KOAT 7
KVIA
KOB TV 4 (which is a YouTube vid)

20 thoughts on “Final West Mesa victim identified

  1. maureen January 28, 2010 / 9:04 pm

    What are the chances that the monster responsible for this has stopped? Unless he (or they) is dead, overseas, or in prison, he has to be repeating this somewhere. Maybe a long way from New Mexico, but somewhere.

    • Meaghan January 28, 2010 / 9:23 pm

      I believe one of the suspects they’re looking at is in fact dead.

  2. Justin January 29, 2010 / 12:52 am

    If the bodies were not all found in one place, I doubt that anyone would have made the serial killer connection. I am sure there are serial killers who don’t make that mistake whose victims stretch far into the double digits.

  3. danielle January 29, 2010 / 2:17 am

    I was flipping my tv channels while I was cleaning, so I don’t know the exact show, but a serial killer had recorded (sound) his victims. He told them to say he was the master and then he played mind games and asked about the kids so the victim would cry. I turned the channel then. I’m wondering if this New Mexico thing is similar, where it’s one guy who targets women, and makes them miserable before killing them.
    Horrible, it makes me sick to know these women were there.

    • Justin January 29, 2010 / 3:14 am

      It sounds like the ones you are thinking about are serial killers Lawrence Bittaker and Roy Norris. But all their victims were young girls who were not parents, so it might not be them.

      You can read about them at http://crime.about.com/od/serial/p/bittaker_norris.htm

      The one who turned states evidence is up for parole this year, though frankly I cannot see the parole board ever letting him out. The other one Lawrence Bittaker has been on death row since 1980 and will more likely die of natural causes before California gets around to executing him. In the meantime, both of them are selling their hair and fingernails on Ebay.

      John E. Douglas, the FBI agent who started the FBI Behavioral Analysis Unit that the film “Silence of the Lambs” is based on, turned the actor Scott Glenn from being against the death penalty to being for it just by playing the audio tape that these worthless pieces of garbage made of them raping, torturing and murdering a 13 year-old girl. The tape of her being tortured with pliers and a coathanger goes on for hours and Glenn could only take a minute or two.

    • Meaghan January 29, 2010 / 4:30 am

      Could have been Charles Ng too.

      • Justin January 29, 2010 / 10:17 am

        Oh, yeah. I forgot about him and his partner. I thought they made video tapes of their victims, not audio though.

    • forthelost January 29, 2010 / 3:39 pm

      The tape Bittaker and Norris made ends before the death of the girl, although it is clearly leading up to it.

  4. danielle January 29, 2010 / 6:22 am

    It wasn’t Charles Ng. I’m from LA, where the trial was, and he is terrible.
    He was able to keep making the trial postponed forever.
    This was a black man who worked alone and targeted black prostitutes. Really sad, I HAD to turn the channel, to hear these women soooo scared.

    I’ll look at the programming. I watch only a few shows so I don’t even know the program it was on, but probably Discovery, TNT or ( I can’t think of the channel I only the know number I go to)

  5. danielle January 29, 2010 / 6:28 am

    I can’t find it, but it was on the ID channel.
    I know Meaghan doesn’t watch tv…but if/when it’s on again, I’ll let you know.
    One point that was made was, just b/c a case is “unsolved” doesn’t mean the cops don’t know who did it, but they lack evidence or, in this case, witnesses who can come foward.

    again, Meaghan, THANK YOU for all you do for us. I’m at the computer, walking (for health reasons only), or housekeeping and I am content with my safe life. I’m alone when my kids are at school, so your site is great company.

    All the bloggers, I’m getting to know you and enjoy blogging with you!

  6. Justin January 29, 2010 / 10:38 am

    Meaghan, did you ever find out anything more about Jane Louise Puckett who was found alive after over 30 years missing?

    • Kelly January 29, 2010 / 3:02 pm

      yes, I’m very interested in this one also. I search for info on her about once a month. More in the beginning when she was found. I can never find anything other than she was found and that a statement was to be released in the weeks following the date she was found. I’d love to know what happened to her.

    • Meaghan January 29, 2010 / 5:30 pm

      I never found out anything. It pisses me off. The police promised to issue a statement and didn’t. If they didn’t want to say anything, they shouldn’t have promised a statement.

  7. Kat January 29, 2010 / 1:28 pm

    In answer to danielle, I know the case you are talking about, it’s been featured on Cold Case Files as well. His name was Maury/Maurice something, I can’t remember the last name to save my life right now because it’s been a while since I’ve seen it. He operated somewhere in the midwest, MI/IL/IA something like that. He did kill many, many prostitutes, the true number will never be known because he killed himself in jail only leaving a rambling letter to his mother, before they really got to interview him. Also, many of the uid’s in those areas could be possible victims but le isn’t sure. I think they caught him because he was sending maps of body locations to le via the internet and they traced him that way. I’ll try to remember the name but I’m almost positive that is who you are talking about. I, too, remember the snippets of tape they showed and it was truly sickening.

    • danielle January 29, 2010 / 3:15 pm

      YES….THat’s it!!! He did kill himself in jail with a bed sheet. THANKS

  8. Kat January 29, 2010 / 1:46 pm

    Maury Troy Travis, Missouri

  9. Kat January 30, 2010 / 12:50 am

    Welcome, danielle

  10. Joshua February 2, 2010 / 3:05 pm

    Does anyone know of a full list of the victims of the West Mesa Murders?

    • Meaghan February 2, 2010 / 4:26 pm

      Look around the internet; you’ll probably find them. I think Charley has them all in the resolved section if you comb through it.

  11. bxa April 19, 2011 / 1:28 am

    Who is the West Mesa Serial Killer?

    A man in a white truck appears to be the serial killer…

    Two eyewitness reports are out there, with links below!

    REPORT #1
    http://scaredmonkeys.net/index.php?action=printpage;topic=4601.0

    “We’re hoping of course that she’s not out here,” Desiree Gonzalez said at the site. “But in a sense, the closure. We’ve been waiting five years.”
    Looking over the search site, Gonzales wondered if her cousin is among the bones found.

    She said that witnesses in 2004 claim Romero got into a white pickup truck late one night and never checked back in with family.

    (NOTE: SHE WAS FOUND BURIED ON THE WEST MESA, PAY ATTENTION TO THE WHITE TRUCK.)

    REPORT #2
    http://www.topix.com/forum/albuquerque/T8MNL5NMIATJNEPOT#comments

    One night he was walking up Central some man picked him up to give him a ride this man was driving a white pick up truck and my boyfriend said he was real wierd. He asked my boyfriend if he wanted to go to the Mesas with him and have sex with his wife and he was whispering like he didn’t want anyone to hear him. While my boyfrined was in the truck he noticed this woman lying on the mans lap with a towel over her head and my boyfriend nudged her legs to scoot her over and she was I’m not sure if he said stiff or just wouldn’t move. .

    ..And the other man who was black put his bycicle in the back of the truck and got in and that was the last my boyfriend seen of him.

    ***FIND THE MAN IN THE WHITE TRUCK AND YOU WILL HAVE THE SERIAL KILLER.

Leave a Reply

