Maurice Jefferson documentary

Last year, a documentary filmmaker said she was going to make a film about the 1983 disappearance of sixteen-year-old Maurice Jefferson. Well, I found a website for it. I’m not sure if the documentary is completed or not; it says filming began in April, but I have no idea how long it takes to make movie. None of the website links appear to work, either. Phooey.

If I can obtain a copy of the DVD, this would definitely be worth a watch. And who knows, maybe it will lead to something as far as resolving Maurice’s disappearance. His case is quite unusual. You don’t hear about a lot of sixteen-year-old basketball-playing choirboys getting abducted.

12 thoughts on “Maurice Jefferson documentary

  1. Kevin January 20, 2010 / 10:16 pm

    Hope they find something about what happened to him. It is a strange case. I went to South Plantation High School, about 10 minutes from Dillard High where he went to school.

  2. danielle January 21, 2010 / 12:49 am

    Hi Kevin…did you of him? or his family?

  3. Kevin January 21, 2010 / 4:52 am

    Danielle, I did not know Maurice or his family. Dillard High School was at most 10 minutes from Plantation, Fl, where I lived. Although close, the two areas could not be further apart. Dillard is located in a very poor neighborhood, filled with drugs, prostitution, and the like. There is an area there called Sistrunk and would challenge some of the worst cities in America for the worst place possible to get out of your car. It still is riddled with crime even to this day. I mention this because it seems possible from what I’ve read about Maurice Jefferson was that he was a good kid. Maybe he saw or knew something he shouldn’t have and threatened to “rat” on someone. Just a possibility of course, but makes sense. I e-mailed the maker of the documentary to see whee this movie can be purchased as I tried Amazon and could not find it. Not sure if it was completed but I do know it was only working on a $12,000 budget. I’ll post back here if I find out.

    • Meaghan January 21, 2010 / 5:10 am

      When a young man is kidnapped, I tend to suspect drugs were involved. Maurice was, quite literally, a choirboy, but if he was involved in drugs it wouldn’t be the first time someone managed to hide that from their family and friends.

      • Justin January 21, 2010 / 9:39 am

        I can understand that. When I was in both junior high and high school, I knew kids that were into stuff that their parents were absolutely clueless about. The parents of several of them found out ‘some’ of what they did only after they were arrested by the cops, and they were in total denial about it. They still refused to believe it even after their kids admitted it was true.

  4. danielle January 21, 2010 / 3:55 pm

    Seeing something he wasn’t supposed to see is a good theory, considering the lifestyle of the area.
    Denial is strong in parents regarding their kids….or wife (look at the husband of the Taconic driver who killed 7 people)

    Well, I’ll be on the lookout for the documentary.

  5. danielle January 23, 2010 / 5:42 pm

    off topic, I know, but I don’t know how to get a new topic going: but— do you watch tv? The stories on the missing baby Gabirel Johnson or the mom from Utah whose husband seems like the reason she is missing?

    Just wondering, b/c I’ve been off work for a while and see how many people are missing under strange circumstances.

    • Meaghan January 24, 2010 / 12:16 am

      I don’t watch any TV at all. Though I do know of the cases you mention.

      • Justin January 24, 2010 / 6:32 am

        Good. I’m glad to hear that you don’t watch TV. Prolonged exposure to it is like a drug. It makes you stupid.

        There is a small bookstore I go to which is right across the street from a high school. The owner told me that practically no students from the school ever patronize the place. My sister told me her daughter told her that every girl in her class has seen the film “Twilight”, but she is one of only three who have read the book. I can just feel civilization crumbling around me.

      • Meaghan January 24, 2010 / 6:51 pm

        Have you ever seen this? http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20070912163334AAvp7nL It makes me quail in fear of the future.

        Also, a snippet of a conversation between me and my former boss, a woman who is working on her master’s degree. We are talking about travel:

        ME: So, if I visit Nepal, I would like to go to Bhutan at the same time, seeing as how they’re sort of right next door to each other.
        MY BOSS: Would you need a passport to travel between the two countries?
        ME: Well, yes. I think you always need a passport unless you’re in the European Union.
        MY BOSS: The European Union, is that the same as the United Nations?
        ME: […]
        […]
        […]
        Uh, no! The European Union is an economic cooperation of European countries, kind of like the United States except not. The United Nations is a kind of committee of all the countries in the world who try to get things done.
        MY BOSS: Doesn’t the United Nations fund terrorist activity and buy arms for nutty dictators?
        ME: […]
        No! They’re a peacekeeping body!
        MY BOSS: Oh, come on, they all say that.

  6. danielle January 24, 2010 / 7:55 pm

    Meaghan….ugh on your boss
    I am a special ed. teacher. My first job was working with 10 th graders (but some were already 17 years old in 10th grade) and it was a reading/writing resouce class.
    I would buy them books and had a class library b/c every day we would have SSR (Silent Sustained Reading) for 20 minutes and the kids never had a book from home. Never…so I provided them
    My 3 children were read to every night. Now, my 15 year old son reads quietly in his room for “fun”.
    Exposure to books and not so much tv makes a big difference. Especially the younger kids now. When I was a kid we didn’t have so many other distractors but now times are different but the need for reading is still the same.

  7. Justin January 25, 2010 / 2:44 am

    My mother read to us the Greek Myths when we were little. The closest that anyone else in my fourth grade class got to that was watching old reruns of Jason and the Argonauts and the like with the stop motion effects of Ray Harryhausen model monsters.

    I have told myself that if I have children, there are four things I will insist that they do:

    1. Study martial arts. Not just so they know how to defend themselves, but because the self confidence a person gets knowing that they can handle themselves makes them walk taller and are less intimidated by life. Full-contact is best. It teaches you to keep going and shrug off pain when you get hurt, which is something many people don’t know how to do. That can be applied to different aspects of a person’s life. People are either so insulated or beaten down by pain that they don’t know how to deal with it. If you live, you are going to get hurt by life and keeping a child protected from any and all pain is not doing them a favor.

    2. Study Latin. That will give them an edge in understanding the Romance languages and figure out terms in chemistry, biology, medicine, etc. If you have a true understanding in Latin, than if you come up against a term you don’t understand, you can break it down by its roots, then you can figure out what it means instead of just memorizing the words. It will make your education MUCH easier.

    3. Learn auto mechanics. I don’t mean they have to know how to tear down an engine block, but they should know how to perform basic maintenance and repair, how the thing works and what the different parts are. I have met so many people who only know that they need to have the oil changed every 3,000 miles and mechanics quickly realize they can tell them anything and charge them for work that doesn’t need to be done. Especially if the car owner is female.

    4. Study history. History repeats itself over and over again, and nobody learns from it. If you study history, political science and economics, you will probably see through the snowjob politicians keep throwing at you. I had a social studies teacher who had us study the voter pamphlets the state passes out with the various new laws, bills and bond issues they wanted to pass. We broke each sentence down, including the rebuttals and counter-rebuttals and were asked to prove or disprove them. That class was worth more than anything else I learned in high school.

    Of course, I acknowledge that in the event I do become a parent, actually trying to apply these rules may not work out in practice. But I think it is a good solid base to start.

Leave a Reply

