I have officially overindulged this week

Books currently checked out from the library:

Bluebeard: the Life and Crimes of Gilles De Rais by Leonard Wolf. 259 pages.
A Plantation Mistress on the Eve of the Civil War: the Diary of Keziah Goodwyn Hopkins Brevard, 1860 – 1861, edited by John Hammond Moore. 137 pages.
The Last Jews in Berlin by Leonard Gross. 349 pages.
Herschel: The Boy Who Stated World War II by Andy Marino. 226 pages.
The Floating Brothel by Sian Rees. 236 pages.
Looking for JJ by Anne Cassidy. 319 pages.
Wicked Women: Black Widows, Child Killers, and Other Women in Crime by Betty Alt and Sandra Wells. 187 pages.
Cranioklepty: Grave Robbing and the Search for Genius by Colin Dickey. 308 pages.
Say You’re One Of Them by Uwem Akpan. 358 pages.
The Dangerous World of Butterflies by Peter Laufer. 271 pages. Renewed once.

Books I bought at the discount bookstore yesterday (and got a really good deal, $26 for all of them when the list prices totaled $87):

Catastrophes and Disasters by Roger Smith. 246 pages.
Everyday Life in Traditional Japan by Charles J. Dunn. 198 pages.
50 Really Exotic Pets by David Manning. 191 pages.
365: Your Date With World History by W. B. Marsh and Bruce Carrick. 683 pages.

Total:

3,619 pages.

Rate at which I’d have to read to have all these finished by the time I come back to the library next week hungry for different books and tired of lugging these tired old ones around:

603 pages a day.

Likelihood of this happening:

Slim. But not impossible, if I really put my mind to it and dedicate my week to it and neglect all other aspects of my life. And I am perfectly capable of doing that for books about vicious killers, prostitutes and stealing dead people’s heads.

6 thoughts on “I have officially overindulged this week

  1. Justin November 21, 2009 / 1:16 pm

    Doesn’t the Library have a limit as to how many books you can have checked out at one time? I thought all librarys did. Around here, I think the limit is 8 or 10.

    • Meaghan November 21, 2009 / 1:34 pm

      I don’t think they have a limit. I’ve had as many as fifteen or so checked out at once. I don’t think they have an inter-library loan limit either — I’ve gotten like 30 books like that and keep ordering more. There is a limit on the number of holds you can have at one time, though: five.

  2. Brianna Brawley November 21, 2009 / 5:16 pm

    Our libary wont let you have more than 8 books out at 1 time and only 3 on anyone subject. Like when I was in HS nad had a paper on the new deal I couldnt check out more than 3 books about the new deal at once.
    I got “365” for my bday a few years ago. It was ok but real short w/o much details in it.

  3. Wendy November 21, 2009 / 5:37 pm

    You’re awesome, Meaghan.

    Our library only has limits on DVDs–10 at a time and you only get them for a week. Books are for three weeks, with zero limits.

    Happy reading!

  4. danielle November 22, 2009 / 6:20 am

    Wendy that sounds familiar…are you in a “big” town or city?? We are in a major city and that’s our rules too.

Leave a comment