I’m baaaaack!

Hi all,

I have been away since Thursday. I kind of went a bit berserk at my therapist’s office and one thing led to another so I spent a few days at a rest home. I didn’t even know they still had those. Rest I did: slept sixteen hours a day, and lounged around reading and playing Sims 3 on my laptop for the other eight. (No internet access.) There was absolutely nothing else to do. Most of the people there were loads worse off than I was — some of them actually lived there, having come from the state hospital. It wasn’t a locked facility or anything. I wasn’t really allowed to leave, but there was nothing physically stopping me if I chose to.

Anyway, after several days I started feeling better and became quite bored. So my doctor let me go home today. I feel much better — calmer.

I have 67 emails in my inbox and other things. I will try to catch up in a timely manner.

11 thoughts on “I’m baaaaack!

  1. Joanne July 8, 2009 / 12:53 am

    Whp pays for this?

    • Meaghan July 8, 2009 / 12:53 am

      The county. No cost to me.

      • Joanne July 8, 2009 / 3:02 pm

        How many of these rest home visits do you make in a year?

  2. Elena July 8, 2009 / 4:42 am

    Hey Meaghan,
    I am so glad you are back! I was really worried about you, checking the web site every hour to see if you were posting. You may not realize it, but there are lots of people out there who care about you. I do hope you will continue to get better from now on.
    Love,
    L.

  3. Charlotte July 8, 2009 / 5:25 am

    Like Elena I was so worried about you and checked the website daily to see if anything has happened. Great to have you back and trust that you will get better each day!! Love, C

  4. emma l July 8, 2009 / 8:47 am

    Sounds like you had a very relaxing time. Perfect.

  5. Cheryl July 8, 2009 / 12:57 pm

    Welcome back girl. Getting some rest, no matter where it was, was probably one of the best things you could have done for yourself. You already have trouble sleeping and all the stress of what happens probably threw you out of whack even more.

    You sound great and its good to see you posting again. Don’t stress yourself out trying to catch up (not worth it), just do what you can and be sure to make some time for yourself.

    Hugs!
    Cheryl

  6. Meaghan July 8, 2009 / 3:21 pm

    I had never been to that place before and I hope I never have to go again. It cost the county $62 a day.

    • emma l July 8, 2009 / 5:22 pm

      Cheap at twice the price (does that make sense?!) considering how much better you sound!

  7. Dream July 11, 2009 / 11:27 pm

    Were you involuntarily committed? Or was this your own idea?

    • Meaghan July 12, 2009 / 12:51 am

      Sort of both. I asked for help and was willing to do whatever they suggested, but once the wheels were in motion, I couldn’t change my mind.

      They can’t really commit you to a rest home involuntarily. If you truly wanted to leave, you could simply walk away. There were no fences, nothing.

Comments are closed.