Dorothy Autrey’s killer convicted

On the Unsolved in the News blog I found this article saying the grandson of Dorothy Vivian Autrey was convicted of killing her. Her body was never found, but the grandson, Matthew Levine, confessed freely so it was kind of a no-brainer. Autrey had invited him to share her home because he was down and out, and he repaid her by killing her.

I don’t know anything about the trial; I’ll have to look it up. From what I know now, I’m surprised by the first-degree murder conviction. I would have guessed second-degree murder or even manslaughter. There’s not a lot of evidence besides Levine’s confession, and he said he accidentally killed her in a fit of temper while under the influence of drugs. Where’s the premeditation there? Not that I’m saying the guy deserves any sympathy. Far from it. I hope he never sees the light of day again.

UPDATE:
Ahh. It seems they found a lot of blood in the house, and Levine had been itching to inherit grandma’s money. Premeditation.

Article:
The San Luis Obispo Tribune

2 thoughts on “Dorothy Autrey’s killer convicted

  1. Aimee April 8, 2009 / 6:53 pm

    I really hate these kind of stories: old person takes in worthless grandchild/nephew/child/random stranger, out of misplaced kindness, and that’s how they’re rewarded. I’m glad it was first-degree, and I hope the other inmates treat him the way he deserves.

  2. Alt. Juror February 6, 2017 / 3:01 am

    I was involved in this trail as an alternate jury and was disappointed I did not get to deliberated. I did not agree with the verdict and felt like the other jurors did not listen to the instructions from the judge. One of the jurors fell asleep consistently during the trial. If I were part of the deliberations I would have brought up facts that I took during the trial. I took very meticulous notes. I remember that one of the jurors had a trip to I think Vegas and did not want the verdict debate to delay her trip.

Leave a Reply

