Isabeth Yanez

I found this article about Isabeth Yanez, who ran away from her home in Georgia last December. She was twelve. She left with her 20-year-old boyfriend, Simon Quintana Gutierrez, leaving a note asking her parents not to look for them.

The police called the case a runaway, not a kidnapping, and as a result Simon and Isabeth were able to get over the Mexican border without being stopped. They’re presumably still there today. The FBI is now investigating…too little, too late in my opinion. The NCMEC has Isabeth listed as “endangered missing.” That’s a more sensible designation.

I suppose I can understand the police’s reasoning — Isabeth clearly left because she wanted to. She wasn’t taken against he will. But for chrissake people, the kid was TWELVE. In many states, that kind of relationship would result in substantial prison time. And if they had listed her as an abduction victim, her name and Gutierrez’s would have been flagged and they would have been stopped when they tried to Mexico. But she was classified a runaway, and she wasn’t stopped, and now who knows where she’s at and if she’ll ever return. She might have a kid by now for all we know.

Call home, Isabeth, if only to say you’re alive.

Tags: , , , ,

16 Responses to “Isabeth Yanez”

  1. Princess Shantae Says:

    Not in Shantae’s house you don’t, little girl.

  2. chris Says:

    In mexico they can legally get married..

  3. Princess Shantae Says:

    Forget marriage, he’s got no business even “dating” a 12yo kid. Yeah, some kids might think they’re more mature than others their age, but 12 is 12.

  4. Peter Henderson Says:

    MEXICO

    In Mexico, the age at which there are no restrictions for sexual activities is 18, while the minimum age of consent varies between 12 and 18, according to state laws. In Mexico, criminal legislation is shared between the Federal Government and regional states. The Federal law establishes the age of 12 as the minimum age at which states can legislate upon; however there may be local state laws that override the federal law.

    The age of consent in at least 14 Mexican states is 12, one of the lowest in the world.

    So while Isabeth is not old enough to marry, she is old enough to give consent in many parts of Mexico

  5. Princess Shantae Says:

    Which doesn’t realy matter because all this started in the USA, where, even if it was legal for her to consent, there’s age difference to consider. Like, maybe if he was a minor too, the law would make allowances for that. But he wasn’t, and you can bet he didn’t wait for sex with her till they got to Mexico if that’s where they went.

    • Meaghan Says:

      I know that it’s illegal to take a minor to another state with a lower age of consent for the purpose of having sex with them there. I bet it’s illegal to take them out of the country for that purpose too. “Trafficking a child over state/national lines for immoral purposes” or whatever.

  6. Kat Says:

    I’m sorry, I read about all these older “guys” ( I won’t call them men) being with little girls who are no more than children and it weirds me out. I’ve seen more than one arguement on other sites about the cultural acceptance of such things (not just in Mexico, but South America, Africa, etc) and I still just don’t get it. To me, it’s gross. I don’t understand wanting to marry or impregnate someone so young. The world has enough problems. Ugh. Hope they find her, Unlikely though. I remember a case resolved here not long ago kind of with the same circumstances and by the time she left and contacted the US and all she had at least two kids of her own. This is all a shame.

    • Meaghan Says:

      Another thing you might want to consider, why guys are attracted to girls that young, is perhaps (I don’t know this for sure) girls become pubescent earlier in life than they used to because of better nutrition and who knows, maybe all the chemicals they put in the food and air too. I read a few years ago that the number of girls having their first periods whilst still in the single digits is rising, and something like 11% get their first period while nine or younger.

      • Kat Says:

        My niece was like that. She “blossomed” or whatever at nine. As my youngest girl would say, IDK, it’s still gross. I know guys don’t “mature” till their twenties (if ever) it still just skeeves me out. There has to be a better alternative.

  7. Princess Shantae Says:

    And I see some young girls acting pretty fast. As in trashy fast. They might not look any older than they are but they try to act older.
    At the nail salon not long ago there was these three girls about 12 or 13, all in these little short shorts and spaghetti strap tops. They were sitting in the chairs waiting for their appointments and they were talking the nastiest stuff, and they didn’t even try to lower their voice. It was disgusting and if I ever found out my daughter had been acting like that she’d be in so much trouble. And I don’t want to even think about what my mom would do to me if I acted that way at that age.

    • Kat Says:

      Parents, parents, parents. Or lack thereof. I’ve wanted to smack a little twit or two myself, especially the seven or eight year old on the cell at the grocery store, clearly talking to an adult…'”WHAT, I was just saying, no YOU listen..” and on and on. It kills me. My steps are in the double digits and not ONE of them would try me. Hell no.

  8. ghostscribe Says:

    There was a girl selling some kind of candy for her school, kind of a poor-looking girl. She was about ten but she had the biggest boobs you can imagine. I mean, they’d be a problem on a grown woman, and she was only in fifth grade? And the way she was dressed!
    First, she needed a good bra, the one she had on was about to give up the fight, you could see where it was riding up and she kept yanking on it to keep it in place. And her t-shirt said “Don’t tell me you’re not impressed.” Her mother dressed the same way except she’s even bigger and probably weighs 300 pounds.

    • Kat Says:

      All of us, see it all the time and know that these kids are one step away from whatever…I’ll say it again. Parenting won’t prevent kidnapping or sex abuse or any other horror, but it wouldn’t hurt to dress kids right. No matter what body type. I’m not tiny anymore, due to medical factors, but you can make sure I’m not on people of walmart. I’ve actually thrown out some of my girls’ clothes because they love em, but it is just too much. Wish I still could, since they are all over age. Now, all i can do is comment.

  9. Peter Henderson Says:

    Missing Taft Teen Contacts Mom

    http://www.turnto23.com/south_county/29512345/detail.html

    This news report is about Alisa Wheeler missing from Taft, California.

    It has no direct connection to Isabeth Yanez but as you can see when you read it, it does have a connection to the information I posted above.

    Do I agree with the Mexican authorities? No. But when dealing with a missing child who has crossed into Mexico it’s important to understand the difference in their laws, culture, and ours. Those differences make it very hard to find missing children who have gone south of the boarder.

  10. Elizabeth Dreamfinder Says:

    http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.103253089748430.5202.100001912182684&type=3#!/photo.php?fbid=122951154445290&set=a.103253089748430.5202.100001912182684&type=3&theater

    Spanish flyer for Isabeth

    English flyer for her

    http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.103253089748430.5202.100001912182684&type=3#!/photo.php?fbid=126603404080065&set=a.103253089748430.5202.100001912182684&type=3&theater

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,380 other followers

