Cherrie Mahan maybe alive?

Per Jamie: this article says the police are looking into a theory that Cherrie Mahan, an eight-year-old girl who was abducted from her bus stop in 1985, may be alive and living in Michigan. They have talked to the woman and she doesn’t think she’s Cherrie, but DNA tests are in progress.

I think a girl of eight, if she was kidnapped, might not remember that much of her previous life. I mean, she might remember enough to realize something was wrong, but not enough to realize she was an abduction victim. It depends on the circumstances, I guess. But Eva Marie Fiedler was six when her mother abducted her and moved her across the country and changed her name, and she had no idea of any of this until the police found her decades later.

I doubt the lead is viable. But it’s possible. With cases like Carlina White, it feels even more possible. So let’s hope for Cherrie.

Tags: , ,

6 Responses to “Cherrie Mahan maybe alive?”

  1. Janell Says:

    Cherrie’s case is the whole reason why I started looking at missing people. She is/was the same age as me and I live an hour away from where she was abducted. I do have to doubt this story, but it would be great if this is her and her family will finally know what has happened to her.

  2. Kelly Says:

    not getting my hopes up, but this would be incredible! I’m also from the same county she lived and am the same age. This case always has had a soft spot in my heart. Please keep us updated if you hear anything else about this!

  3. Celeste Says:

    If DNA identified Jaycee Dugard then it could help rule out this woman as Cherie Mahan. I hope that this new lead hasn’t gotten her mother’s hopes up. It would be horrifying to her if someone claimed this woman to Cherrie only to find out tlater that it isn’t her at all. :(

  4. Kim Bouck Says:

    I heard a month or 2 ago there was a tip on this case I guess this was it? It’s been determined the woman in question is not Cherrie. What the heck happened to the van with the mural? It is not everyday you see an unusual distinct looking van. Someone has to know who drives this van. So frustrating.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,149 other followers

