Cops close Candace Clothier case

The Bucks County, Pennsylvania police are closing their homicide investigation in the 1968 death of Candace Clothier, according to this article. She was sixteen years old when she disappeared after leaving her home in Philadelphia. Her (partially clothed) body didn’t turn up for five weeks. Authorities believe she died of a forced drug overdose.

The reason the cops are closing the case is not because they’ve made an arrest but because they have three prime suspects in her murder and all of them have been dead for at least ten years, one for 35 years. I suppose I can understand that reasoning. They are not naming the suspects because it wouldn’t serve the public interest and would only cause their families pain.

Candace’s father, who had to be sedated after he identified her body, died of a sudden heart attack only three months after that. He was only 48 and his other daughter says whoever killed Candace basically killed her dad too. Even if he did have an underlying condition, the stress certainly would have made it much worse.

What else is there to say? May Candace rest in peace.

Tags:

4 Responses to “Cops close Candace Clothier case”

  1. Bill Says:

    I disagree that it would cause the family pain to know the suspects who may have killed their relative. I would suggest someone ask the family if they would like to know. I’m sure the answer would likely be ‘yes.’

    I have deep sympathy for any parent who had to identify the body of an offspring.

  2. Jackie Says:

    I am glad they finally solved this crime. It has haunted me for years, as Candy was my friend and classmate. I missed her then, and I miss her now. Rest in Peace Candy Girl. Your friend forever Jackie

  3. Jackie (Gambler) Anderson Says:

    I will never forget Candy’s laugh. She was my friend. We sat together in several classes at school. I was interviewed by the police and the poem in the yearbook she gave to me. I gave it to the police. As a 16 year old girl, her death was devastating to me. It hurts me so bad that they would not release these evil bastards names. I miss you Candy Girl. You are not forgotten. RIP. Your friend forever, Jackie

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,097 other followers

